BibliographiesBiographical SourcesEnglish Language DictionariesLiterary Terms and ConceptsSpecialized Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 3670.1: Studies in U.S. Fiction After 1900 (Spring 2009)  Tags: american_literature fiction literature  

Library research guide for students in Prof. Braddock's English 3670 class.
Last update: Mar 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/english3670jb  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Biographical Sources             Print Page
  
 

Biographical Sources

Black American Writers Past and Present: a Biographical and Bibliographical Dictionary. 2 vols. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1975. (Uris Ref Z 1229 N39 R95; also Olin, Africana)
Includes over 2000 black American writers, living and deceased, from Africa and the West Indies who live and/or publish in the United States. Includes biographical and bibliographical references.

 

Contemporary American Novelists: A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook. Westport: Greenwood, 1993.(Olin Ref 153 G38 C76 1993)

 

Dictionary of Literary Biography. Detroit: Gale, 1978- .Uris Ref PS 129 D55+; online via Library Catalog and Database Names
An ongoing set of volumes designed to provide biographic, bibliographic and critical material on major writers of America and Great Britain as well as some writers of Canada, France and Germany. Each volume is arranged alphabetically by the writers covered. There are numerous portraits and often there are appendices containing special information. A list of further reading concludes each volume. An index to all volumes appears at the end of each latest volume. Individual author essays are available online through the Literature Resource Center, minus illustrations, photographs, and other visual material that appears in the printed volumes.

 

Harlem Renaissance and Beyond: Literary Biographies of 100 Black Women Writers 1900-1945. Boston: G.K Hall, 1990. (Uris Ref PS 153 N5 R81)
"It is the purpose of this book to focus attention on black women writers whose work belongs primarily to the first half of the twentieth century and whose achievements or existence have been little recognized...." [Preface] One to four page biographies are followed by a bibliography of primary and secondary sources. Includes an index to titles mentioned in the text and a general bibliography.

 

In Their Own Words : An Index Of Interviews With American Authors, 1945-2000, by Jim McWilliams. West Cornwall, CT: Locust Hill Press, c2002. (Olin Ref Z1227 M39 2002)
Index of interviews with "all fiction writers, poets, and essayists who are regularly anthologized, have won major literary awards, or are the subjects of critical essays" [author]that have been published in literary journals, magazines, and newspapers, primarily in American publications. Arranged alphabetically by author name. Appendices provide bibliographies of book-length interview collections.

 

Literature Resource Center. [Farmington Hills, MI] : Gale Group, c1999-.
"Literature Resource Center (LRC) is a complete literature reference database designed for the undergraduate student. LRC combines biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information to deliver a complete reference/resource package on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Centering on respected Gale sources, including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism, this data set is augmented with full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical material illuminating an oeuvre or era. In partnership with Merriam-Webster, Inc., LRC offers the Encyclopedia of Literature including over 10,000 entries for authors, works, literary landmarks, literary and critical terms, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional characters, literary movements, and prizes. Partnering with Macmillan Library Reference, LRC offers The Scribner Writer Series, providing more than 1500 original biocritical essays on authors of all nationalities and time periods. And The Twayne Authors Series: Twayne's US Authors, Twayne's English Authors and Twayne's World Authors,providing literary criticism, history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres for approximately 200 authors.

 

Modern American Women Writers. Schowalter, Elaine, ed. New York: Scribner, 1991. Olin Ref PS 151 M68+; also Uris Ref PS151 M68
Provides scholarly, biographical and critical articles on forty-one representative women writers who published in the United States since 1870. Articles also review important individual titles and place them in the context of each authors overall work. Each signed article includes a selected bibliography of critical and biographical studies.

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait