Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

LING 1100.102: Language, Thought & Reality: From Cuneiform to Cryptography (Spring 2009)  Tags: linguistics_language_literature  

Library Research Guide
Last update: Apr 06th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/ling1100_102  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Strategies

Track down the references from subject encyclopedias
and books on your topic.

Search a general, or subject-specific article index (database)

Locate journals in the library catalog (includes print and online sources)

 
 

Article Databases & Indexes

Find articles, essays, book chapters and monographs

 General periodical indexes  Selected periodical indexes  Related periodical indexes

Periodical indexes (databases) identify and locate the articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Some databases provide the complete article online (the full-text). When full-text articles are not provided, click on the Get it! Cornell link to determine if the library owns the periodical you need, or search the Library Catalog directly for the book or journal title.

Note: The Find Articles feature on the Library Gateway allows you to perform a very simple search across multiple databases. For more precise searching, it's best to search the databases individually. See the recommended databases below.

General periodical indexes:

Academic Search Premier [electronic resource]. Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Publishing, 1984 - . (Cornell Subscription)

Provides indexing, abstracts (summaries) and some full-text. Includes over 200 linguistics journals.

Proquest Research Library. Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, . 1986 - . (Cornell Subscription)

Proquest Research Library indexes and abstracts over 1500 periodicals, covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Return to top


Selected periodical indexes for linguistics:

LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts. San Diego: Sociological Abstracts Inc. (Cornell Subscription)

An index to scholarly articles, books, book chapters, essays, and book reviews in the field of linguistics and language-related research. LLBA also provides brief abstracts (summaries) .

Tip: Click on the Advanced Search link.

Sample search in LLBA (Advanced Search link):

Sample search in LLBA (Advanced Search link):

MLA International Bibliography. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1963 - . (Cornell Subscription)

An index to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics.

Return to top


Related  indexes:
Anthropology Plus. [Mountain View, Calif.] : The Research Libraries Group, Inc., 1993- . (Cornell Subscription)

An index to journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.

Web of Science (Cornell Subscription)

An index to articles in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Search tips: Connect words or phrases with AND. Example: language AND representation AND sign. From the left-hand sidebar, refine your results to the field of linguistics. You can also use the Cited Reference search to determine how many times a specific article has been cited by other scholars.

Return to top

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait