Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

LING 1100.102: Language, Thought & Reality: From Cuneiform to Cryptography (Spring 2009)  Tags: linguistics_language_literature  

Library Research Guide
Last update: Apr 06th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/ling1100_102  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Background Sources             Print Page
  
 

Strategies

Browse the Reference Collection by Library of Congress Call number classification.

Find a Subject Guide (created by reference staff)

Ask a Librarian!

 
 

Reference Sources

Reference Sources
For background information

Quick Reference

 Credo Reference. Boston, Mass. : Credo Reference, c2007 -.

A searchable collection containing 100 reference sources including subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical sources and quotations. Contains over 150,000 entries of facts, words, concepts, and people.

Matthews, P. H. (Peter Hugoe) The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics. [online] Oxford : New York : Oxford University Press, 1997. 

Brief explanations of terms and concepts.

Subject Encyclopedias

Asher, R.E. ed. The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics. Tarrytown, N.Y.: Pergamon Press, 1994. 10 vol.

(Olin Ref P29 E56+)

Broad in scope, so that interdisciplinary aspects of linguistics and language studies are covered as well as various areas of linguistics. Signed articles include authoritative bibliographies. Consult the separate Index volume for alphabetical and classified listings. Click here for a thematic list of contents. Refer to the print volumes in the Olin Reference stacks to access the articles.)

Daniels, Peter T. and William Bright.  The World's Writing Systems. New York : Oxford University Press, 1996.
(Olin Reference P211 .W714 1996)

"....Describing scores of scripts in use now or in the past around the world, this unusually comprehensive reference offers a detailed exploration of the history and typology of writing systems. More than eighty articles by scholars from over a dozen countries explain and document how a vast array of writing systems work--how alphabets, ideograms, pictographs, and hieroglyphics convey meaning in graphic form." [publisher web site]

Frawley, William ed-in-chief. International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003.

(Olin Ref P 29 I61 2003+)

This updated and expanded edition of the ten-year-old International Encyclopedia of Linguistics includes 957 articles, a detailed index, and many See and See also references in the index and the text. It includes short biographies from the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics. A systematic outline and a directory of contributors remain as features.

Malmkjær, Kirsten. The Linguistics Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. London ; New York : Routledge, 2002.

(Olin Ref P 29 L52 2002) ; 2001 edition also available online through ebrary.

Entries are alphabetically arranged, extensively cross-referenced, and include suggestions for further reading. They cover over 150 major and subsidiary fields of linguistic study. Key terms and topics are defined and discussed in context, emphasized in bold type. The scope is broad: physical and mental processes connected with language, its social and cultural role and the contribution its study can make to related disciplines and professions, theory and practice of language study, and diverse approaches to language description, analysis, and interpretation.

Strazny, Philipp. ed. Encyclopedia of Linguistics. 2 vols. New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005.

(Olin Reference P 29 E483 2005)

Written with the non-specialist in mind, entries are arranged alphabetically and conclude with a brief bibliography. Includes languages, language families, concepts and extensive biographical entries.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait