Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

GOVT 1101.102 Power and Politics: Pirates and Political Order (Spring 2009)  Tags: pirates piracy history government  

A Guide to Library Research
Last update: Mar 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/GOVT1101_102  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Documents & Primary Sources             Print Page
  
 

Useful Tips

Browse footnotes and bibliographies of books, encyclopedias, and articles for information about primary sources. 

Search the Library Catalog for primary sources.  Use the guided keyword search with your terms and the word sources as a subject.

 
 

Historical Primary Sources

Online Histoircal Primary Source Collections

 

Early encounters in North America: peoples, cultures, and the environment. North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. 

American journeys eyewitness accounts of early American exploration and settlement.  Eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.

Evans digital edition (American Imprints) Books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera printed in the US during the 17th and 18th century American life. In progress.

Eighteenth century collections online (ECCO).  Books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. In progress.

Early English books online (EEBO)
In progress. Covers 1450-1661.

A century of lawmaking for a new nation: U.S. Congressional documents and debates, 1774-1873 Presents records and acts of Congress from the Journals of the Continental Congress through The Congressional Globe, which ceased publication with the Forty-second Congress in 1873.

British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.  Included are the House of Commons Journal and House of Lords Journal

American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library Primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures.

 

Primary Source Periodical Articles

 

Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI)   Index to periodicals 1770-1993.

American Periodical Series/APS online.  Periodicals from 1740-1900.

Historical Newspapers Online. Indexes the London Times.

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876 (formerly Early American Newspapers).  

 

 

 

Contemporary Document Collections

United Nations Website

LexisNexis Congressional Publications.

Please note: It's often more efficient to first review the background materials for a summary of the events (legislative or regulatory) important reference points such as bill numbers, public law numbers or statutes, the relevant agencies, congressional committees and more. With these clues, you can more effectively locate the documents themselves. See CQ Weekly or CQ Almanac (Olin Library Reference, JK1 .C66 +) for useful background information.

Treaties in Force. Full Text Archives via Hein (1929, 1932, 1941, 1955 through 2005)

An annual volume listing all bilateral and multilateral treaties and agreements on record in the Dept. of State "which had not expired by their terms or which had not been denounced by the parties, replaced, or superseded by other agreements, or otherwise definitely terminated" as of January 1st of each year. (Title page) Arranged in two sections, bilateral and multilateral. Within each section arrangement is alphabetical by country, and then by broad subject. Use A Guide to the United States Treaties in Force for additional points of access to TIF.


 Basic Documents in International Law. [Olin Library Reference, KZ64 .B37 2002 ]

Major International Treaties of the Twentieth Century: a History and Guide with Texts. Olin Library Reference JX171 .G823 2001

Encyclopedia of Historical Treaties & Alliances. 2 vols.  [ Olin Library Reference, KZ1160 .P48x 2001 + ]

The United Nations Treaty Collection

See also:

Peace Studies

Treaties and International Agreements

UN Documents

U.S. Government Documents in Olin Library


 

Virginia Cole

Profile Image****

Help from a librarian (you might not get me) is only a click away:




Contact Info:
Virginia Cole
106 Olin Library
607-255-5359
Send Email

Subjects:
medieval studies, history, digital reference, citation management

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait