Search for Citations in Individual Databases
Click on the titles below to launch individual databases. Due to licensing restrictions, access is restricted in most cases to Cornell University community members.
- Art Bibliographies ModernAbstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, & exhibition reviews. Scope extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography covered from 1839 to the present.
A particular emphasis is placed on adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. Approximately 13,000 new entries added yearly.
- Art & Architecture SourceThis database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
- Art RetrospectiveArt Index Retrospective is available on WilsonWeb, CD-ROM, and magnetic tape and provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism from 420 noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. Art Index Retrospective cites sources published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well as English. In addition to periodicals, users will find data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
- Bibliography of the History of ArtA database search engine covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present, indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.
- PASCAL FRANCISA searchable archive of two databases, FRANCIS (1972-2015) and PASCAL (1984-2015). FRANCIS covers 15 disciplines in human and social sciences with 2.6 million bibliographic references since 1972. PASCAL gathers 20 million bibliographic references in science, technology, and medicine. Emphasis on European academic journals.
- Humanities International IndexIndexes articles and books across the arts and humanities disciplines from a multitude of U.S. and international publications. HII also provides citations for original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Many links to full text.
- International Bibliography of ArtCitations encompass fine arts in all media (from painting and sculpture to video and new media), decorative arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history.
- JSTORJSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business, and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature.
- ProQuest One LiteratureFormer name: Literature Online. Offers a full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources as well as articles, monographs and dissertations from the Annual bibliography of English language and literature (ABELL); full-text articles from literary journals; and biographical information on widely studied authors.
- Gale Literature Resource CenterA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary authors, Dictionary of literary biography, and Contemporary literary criticism. Provides additional search capability for Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of literature and Gale literary index.
- MLA International BibliographyThe premier scholarly bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world. Online coverage back to 1926. Includes books, articles in books, and journal articles. Does not index book reviews.
- Project MUSESearchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)A component of Web of Science -- AHCI offers multidisciplinary journal coverage of the arts & humanities. It can also be searched by cited references to specific works that appear in article bibliographies. Coverage range is1975 - date. From the main Web of Science search screen, select More Settings, and uncheck all but the AHCI checkbox.
Search for Citations in Individual Databases
Click on the titles below to launch individual databases. Due to licensing restrictions, access is restricted in most cases to Cornell University community members.
- Art Bibliographies ModernAbstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, & exhibition reviews. Scope extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography covered from 1839 to the present.
A particular emphasis is placed on adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. Approximately 13,000 new entries added yearly.
- Art & Architecture SourceThis database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
- Art RetrospectiveArt Index Retrospective is available on WilsonWeb, CD-ROM, and magnetic tape and provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism from 420 noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. Art Index Retrospective cites sources published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well as English. In addition to periodicals, users will find data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
- Bibliography of the History of ArtA database search engine covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present, indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.
- PASCAL FRANCISA searchable archive of two databases, FRANCIS (1972-2015) and PASCAL (1984-2015). FRANCIS covers 15 disciplines in human and social sciences with 2.6 million bibliographic references since 1972. PASCAL gathers 20 million bibliographic references in science, technology, and medicine. Emphasis on European academic journals.
- Humanities International IndexIndexes articles and books across the arts and humanities disciplines from a multitude of U.S. and international publications. HII also provides citations for original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Many links to full text.
- International Bibliography of ArtCitations encompass fine arts in all media (from painting and sculpture to video and new media), decorative arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history.
- JSTORJSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business, and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature.
- ProQuest One LiteratureFormer name: Literature Online. Offers a full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources as well as articles, monographs and dissertations from the Annual bibliography of English language and literature (ABELL); full-text articles from literary journals; and biographical information on widely studied authors.
- Gale Literature Resource CenterA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary authors, Dictionary of literary biography, and Contemporary literary criticism. Provides additional search capability for Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of literature and Gale literary index.
- MLA International BibliographyThe premier scholarly bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world. Online coverage back to 1926. Includes books, articles in books, and journal articles. Does not index book reviews.
- Project MUSESearchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)A component of Web of Science -- AHCI offers multidisciplinary journal coverage of the arts & humanities. It can also be searched by cited references to specific works that appear in article bibliographies. Coverage range is1975 - date. From the main Web of Science search screen, select More Settings, and uncheck all but the AHCI checkbox.
How to find articles
Two strategies: Search a number of article databases all at once using Summon, or go into individual databases for your searches.
Summon / Search for Articles
Individual Databases
Find a database by browsing the list under Find Database Names: by Subject
Click on the title of the database to launch it, then search within the database for articles. Results will be returned as either citations or full text.
Other suggestions given at right.
How to find articles
Two strategies: Search a number of article databases all at once using Summon, or go into individual databases for your searches.
Summon / Search for Articles
Individual Databases
Find a database by browsing the list under Find Database Names: by Subject
Click on the title of the database to launch it, then search within the database for articles. Results will be returned as either citations or full text.
Other suggestions given at right.
PassKey
Do you live off-campus? Do you contemplate needing to use databases while traveling? Are you having difficulty getting access to licensed library resouces? (I.e. databases, e-books, your library account)?
If so, try using PassKey. PassKey is a specially designed "bookmarklet" designed to give Cornell community members access to licensed library resources while they are away from campus.
PassKey does not require any installation: Just click on the link or button below, put in your NetID and password and you should be granted immediate access.
Passkey Bookmarklet
Book Reviews
- Book Reviews: A Finding GuideThe best guide to finding book reviews at Cornell!
- MLA International BibliographyThe premier scholarly bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world. Online coverage back to 1926. Includes books, articles in books, and journal articles. Does not index book reviews.
- Gale Literature Resource CenterA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary authors, Dictionary of literary biography, and Contemporary literary criticism. Provides additional search capability for Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of literature and Gale literary index.
- Readers' Guide RetrospectiveJust in case this gem from the vaults might help: this database comprehensively indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, esp. 20th century America. Covers 1890-1982.
- Periodicals Index OnlineIndex to thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages. Previously known as Periodicals Contents Index (PCI).
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)A component of Web of Science -- AHCI offers multidisciplinary journal coverage of the arts & humanities. It can also be searched by cited references to specific works that appear in article bibliographies. Coverage range is1975 - date. From the main Web of Science search screen, select More Settings, and uncheck all but the AHCI checkbox.
Book Reviews
- Book Reviews: A Finding GuideThe best guide to finding book reviews at Cornell!
- MLA International BibliographyThe premier scholarly bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world. Online coverage back to 1926. Includes books, articles in books, and journal articles. Does not index book reviews.
- Gale Literature Resource CenterA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary authors, Dictionary of literary biography, and Contemporary literary criticism. Provides additional search capability for Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of literature and Gale literary index.
- Readers' Guide RetrospectiveJust in case this gem from the vaults might help: this database comprehensively indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, esp. 20th century America. Covers 1890-1982.
- Periodicals Index OnlineIndex to thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences across more than 300 years, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages. Previously known as Periodicals Contents Index (PCI).
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)A component of Web of Science -- AHCI offers multidisciplinary journal coverage of the arts & humanities. It can also be searched by cited references to specific works that appear in article bibliographies. Coverage range is1975 - date. From the main Web of Science search screen, select More Settings, and uncheck all but the AHCI checkbox.