Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

GOVT 3937.1: Introduction to Peace Studies (Spring 2009)  Tags: government_law_public_policy  

Library Research Guide
Last update: May 01st, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/govt3937  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find US and International Documents             Print Page
  
 

Strategies

Use background sources to identify relevant primary source materials. Note titles, author or organization, and symbol numbers where appropriate

Look for an appropriate print or online compendia or database

Don't hesitate to Ask a Librarian!

 
 

Selected sources for federal and international documents

US Documents

LexisNexis Congressional Publications

US Documents -- Congressional reports, hearings, resolutions.

Treaties and agreements library. Washington: U.S. G.P.O. Olin JX235.9 A33+ Latest volume (2006) online.
_______________. Full Text Archives via Hein (1929, 1932, 1941, 1955 through 2005)

An annual volume listing all bilateral and multilateral treaties and agreements on record in the Dept. of State "which had not expired by their terms or which had not been denounced by the parties, replaced, or superseded by other agreements, or otherwise definitely terminated" as of January 1st of each year. (Title page) Arranged in two sections, bilateral and multilateral. Within each section arrangement is alphabetical by country, and then by broad subject. Use A Guide to the United States Treaties in Force for additional points of access to TIF.

US Supreme Court Opinons (via Cornell Legal Information Institute). 1990 - .

US Supreme Court Library (via Hein Online)

This library offers the only complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports from 1754 to 2003, as well as Preliminary Prints from 2002 to 2006 and Slip Opinions from 2002 to date.
  • From HeinOnline main page, scroll down to find US Supreme Court Library.
  • Click Search
  • For best results, choose the Field Search

 

International

Brownlie, Ian. ed. Basic Documents in International Law. 5th ed. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2002. [Olin Library Reference, KZ64 .B37 2002 ]

A concise collection of some of the key documents in international law. Includes introductory annotations with suggestions for further reading. [Table-of Contents, OUP]

Grenville, J.A.S. and Bernard Wasserstein. Major International Treaties of the Twentieth Century: a History and Guide with Texts. London ; New York : Routledge , c2001. [Olin Library Reference, JX171 .G823 2001 ]

"....surveys the history of treaty-making throughout the twentieth century. It accessibly provides the texts of all the major treaties that either continue in force today, or are of historical importance. These treaties are essential for an understanding of recent history and for analysis of current international relations" [preface]

Phillips, Charles L. and Alan Axelrod. Encyclopedia of Historical Treaties & Alliances. 2 vols. New York : Facts on File, c2001. [ Olin Library Reference, KZ1160 .P48x 2001 + ]

International Court of Justice

"In its judgements, the Court has addressed international disputes involving economic rights, rights of passage, the non-use of force, non-interference in the internal affairs of states, diplomatic relations, hostage-taking, the right of asylum and nationality." (The United Nations Today, 2008, p. 279)

International Criminal Court

"...the International Criminal Court has jurisdiction to prosecute individuals who commit genocide, war crimes and crimes against humanity. It will also have jurisdiction over the crime of aggresssion when agreement is reached on the definition of sucha crime." (The United Nations Today, 2008, p.293.)

Peace Agreements Digital Collection

The Peace Agreements Digital Collection, part of the Margarita S. Studemeister Digital Library in International Conflict Management, strives to contain the full text of agreements signed by the major contending parties ending inter- and intra-state conflicts worldwide since 1989. It is a collection constantly under development by the Jeannette Rankin Library Program as a means to strengthen worldwide access to information on peaceful means to end international conflict.

United Nations Official Documents. ODS Online. Full-text from 1992 to date; resolutions from 1946 to date.

Official repository for documents published by the United Nations. The full text of documents dating back to 1992 is accessible in Portable Document Format (PDF) as Microsoft Word 6 files in all official languages of the United Nations - Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish. U.N. documents are available back to 1992. U.N. Resolutions, which includes resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, and Trusteeship Council are available since 1946. Use advanced search and select resolutions.

 The United Nations Treaty Collection

Includes online versions of the print publications: Multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, which incorporates the detailed status of over 485 multilateral treaties, and: (United Nations) Treaty series, which contains the texts of over 30,000 bilateral and multilateral treaties in their authentic language(s), along with a translation into English and French, as appropriate, for those treaties registered with the Secretariat.

 United Nations. Office of Disarmament. Disarmament Yearbook. [JX 1974. U58; latest volume in Olin Reference]
Note: You can find parts of this online, but many of the links are broken.

  The 2007 Yearbook has been produced in two parts:

Part I contains all the resolutions and decisions of the previous General Assembly.

Part II is divided among the main multilateral issues under consideration throughout the year. It presents developments and trends on the issues; a convenient issue-oriented timeline; short summaries of First Committee and General Assembly actions taken on resolutions and decisions; the full texts of principal multilateral agreements reached during the year and declarations adopted by treaty review conferences.

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait