Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

GOVT 3937.1: Introduction to Peace Studies (Spring 2009)  Tags: government_law_public_policy  

Library Research Guide
Last update: May 01st, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/govt3937  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Strategies

Track down the references from subject encyclopedias
and books on your topic.

Search a general, or subject-specific article index (database)

Locate journals in the library catalog (includes print and online sources)

 
 

Selected databases

General Periodical Databases Specialized Periodical Indexes Newspaper Databases

Periodical indexes (databases) identify and locate the articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.
 
Some databases provide the complete article online (the full-text). When full-text articles are not provided, click on the Get it! Cornell link to determine if the library owns the periodical you need, or search the Library Catalog directly for the book or journal title.

Note: The Articles feature on the Library home page allows you to perform a very simple search across multiple databases. For more precise searching, it's best to search the databases individually. See the recommended databases below.

 General Periodical Indexes

Academic Search Premier. Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Publishing, 1984 - .

Provides indexing, abstracts (summaries) and some full-text.

Proquest Research Library. Ann Arbor, Mich. : University Microfilms International, . 1986 - . (Cornell Subscription)

Available as part of the ProQuest Direct system, Periodical Abstracts indexes and abstracts over 1500 periodicals, covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The ProQuest Direct Web interface provides the full-text, in several formats, of many articles contained in the database.

Return to top

Specialized Periodical Indexes

Historical Abstracts. Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-Clio, Inc., c1998 -.

Covers over 2000 journals, including historical journals from almost every country and selections of journals in the social sciences and humanities for researchers and students of history.

International Political Science Abstracts. Norwood, Mass.: SilverPlatter International, 1989 - .

Indexes and abstracts articles on political science topics from periodicals published throughout the world

Index To Legal Periodicals & Books. Bronx, N.Y. : H.W. Wilson Co.

Citations to articles from over 600 legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar association organs, law reviews, and government publications originating in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Includes book reviews.

 

Lexis Nexis Academic. Dayton, Ohio: LEXIS-NEXIS, 1997- .

Selected law review articles relating to international law.
Search tips: Select Legal. Use the pull-down menu to select International Law Reviews . Search by Section: Summary.

PAIS International. OCLC Public Affairs Information Service.

Contains citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences. It includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, reports and pamphlets in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Peace Research Abstracts. Oakville Ont.: Canadian Peace Research Institute. 

Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including International Journal of Peace Studies, International Journal on World Peace, and Conflict Management & Peace Science. Coverage from 1964.

Return to top

Newspaper indexes

Access World News. Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc., 200u -.

Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

Lexis Nexis Academic. Dayton, Ohio: LEXIS-NEXIS, 1997- .

A Web-based database providing access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations. Resources include TV and radio news transcripts. Updated daily.

World News Connection. July 1994 - .

A successor to the FBIS Daily reports from the Foreign Broadcasting Information Service and the JPRS reports from the Joint Publications Research Service provided through the National Technical Information Service. The material is obtained from non-U.S. open-source political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books. The content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events.

World Press Review. New York, N.Y. : Worldpress.org

Drawing upon publications around the globe, and a network of correspondents in dozens of countries, worldpress.org presents the issues that barely see the light of day in the mainstream press, translating, reprinting, analyzing, and contextualizing the best of the international press. The World Press Review Online website offers full text articles, search options and direct links to foreign media by country. Its archives include back issues with selected articles from the print title, World Press Review.

Return to top

To find additional databases, go to the library home page, click Database Names and Browse Databases by Subject, or Ask a Librarian for suggestions (recommended!).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait