Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

HIST 2770: Getting Medieval I: The Early Middle Ages (Spring 2009)  Tags: medieval middle_ages medieval_studies history  

A guide to medieval history library research
Last update: Mar 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/his2770  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background             Print Page
  
 

Tips

Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • quick self-education
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography
 

General


Oxford Reference Online: History
Outstanding collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions covering all periods, places and aspects of history.

Cambridge Histories including The Cambridge Economic History of the United States Vol. 1: The Colonial Era

 

 

Dictionary

 

Encyclopedias

 

Oxford Dictionary of the Saints

Encyclopedia of early Christianity (Olin Library Reference + BR162.2 .E56 1997)

Late antiquity : a guide to the postclassical world (Olin Library Reference DE5 .L29x 1999)

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. (Olin Reference D 114 D55+; also Uris Reference)

The Catholic Encyclopedia and the New Catholic Encyclopedia (Olin Reference BX841 .N532 2003+; also Uris Reference)

Medieval England: An Encyclopedia. (Olin Reference DA 129 .M43x 1998)

Medieval France: An Encyclopedia. (Olin Reference DC 33.2 .M48 1995)

Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia. (Olin Reference DD126 .M43x 200+)

Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia. (Olin Reference DP99 .M33x 2003+).

Medieval Italy: An Encyclopedia.  (Olin Library Reference DG443 .M43x 2004)

Medieval Islamic civilization: an encyclopedia. (Olin Library Reference DS36.85 .M434 2006 +)

Medieval Jewish civilization: an encyclopedia. (Olin Reference DS124 .M386 2003 +)

Medieval Scandanavia: An Encyclopedia. (Kroch Rare and Manuscripts Reference and Olin Reference DL30 .M48+).

Women in the Middle Ages: an encyclopedia. (Olin Library Reference HQ1143 .W643 2004)

Medieval Archaeology: an Encyclopedia. (Olin Reference D125.M42x 2001+)

Medieval folklore : a guide to myths, legends, tales, beliefs, and customs.(Olin and Uris Reference GR35 .M43 2002)

Motif-index of folk literature (online).  Also known as Stith Thompson.  Very difficult to work with online.  Try the print volumes instead at Olin Reference GR67 .T47 1955+)

Ancient Europe 8000 B.C.--A.D. 1000: encyclopedia of the Barbarian world.  (Olin Library Reference D62 .A52x 2004+)

Encyclopedia of barbarian Europe: society in transformation. (Olin Library Reference D135 .F73x 2003+)

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Anglo-Saxon England. (Olin Reference DA 152 B58x 1998) 

      
     

    Virginia Cole

    Profile Image****

    Help from a librarian (you might not get me) is only a click away:




    Contact Info:
    Virginia Cole
    106 Olin Library
    607-255-5359
    Send Email

    Subjects:
    medieval studies, history, digital reference, citation management

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait