Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 2890.101: Women's Activism in the U.S. (Spring 2009)  Tags: linguistics_language_literature history woman social_movements  

A guide to research strategies, information resources, and library services available to students in this course on women and social movements.
Last update: Apr 15th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/engl2890jc  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles/Databases             Print Page
  
 

Research Tips

See Search Tips: Articles for more information.

Look for Get it Cornell links to retrieve full text articles online.

All databases and journals can also be found in the Library Catalog.

 
 

Recommended general subject database to start your search for articles

 Research Library (ProQuest). Ann Arbor: Bell & Howell, 1986- .

Research Library indexes and abstracts an extensive number of general interest magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Full text of many articles is provided.

Click on the Databases Selected link to select and search other ProQuest databases, including a selection of Historical Databases:

  • APS Online (American Periodicals Series) 1740-1900
  • ProQuest Historial Newspapers
    • New York Times 1851-2005
    • Wall Street Journal 1889-1991
    • Washington Post 1877-1992

 Also try the multidisciplinary Academic Source Premier database.

 

The Liberator

The Liberator (1831 - 1865) -- American Periodical Series

 

Samuel May Anti-Slavery Collection

 

Articles and Databases

Browse or Search for articles, databases or images on your topic.

Article Search Options:

  • Use the Articles search from the Library Homepage to do simple searches from selected databases.
  • Use the Advanced search to find articles in one or more databases in a particular subject area.


Database Search Options:

History Databases

Here is a selection of history databases for finding scholarly articles on your topics.

  • 19th Century Masterfile  
    19th Century Masterfile is a reference service for scholars, bibliographers, and students of the Nineteenth Century...It is a continually expanding resource for the study of Nineteenth-Century cultural and intellectual life.
  • Accessible Archives  
    A site devoted to primary source material in American history.
  • America, History and Life  
    America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
  • America’s Historical Newspapers,1690-1876  
    Web-based archive of Americana that features images and full-text content from many historical newspapers.
  • American Memory  
    Provides information on, and access to, the digitized version of the Library’s primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures.
  • APS - American Periodicals Series  
    Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
  • Making of America  
    Materials accessible here are Cornell University Library's contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers  
    Full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times (1851-2003), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1989), the Washington Post (1877-1990), every page from every issue in PDF files.
 

Literature Databases

Literature Online (LION). Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey, Inc., c1999-.

LION

A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources. Includes articles, monographs, and dissertations from the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; full-text articles from literary journals (with links to JSTOR journals); and biographical information on widely studied authors.

 

Literature Resource Center. [Farmington Hills, MI] : Gale Group, c1999.LRC

A complete literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.

 

More Literature Databases and E-Journal Collections

Specialized Subject Databases 

MLA International Bibliography. New York: Modern Language Association, 1963- .

An international index and database providing   references to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics.

Humanities International Complete . Ipswich, MA: EBSCO, 199?- .

Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.

 


e-Journal Collections

 

JSTOR New York, NY: JSTOR, c1996-.

JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business and other fields.

Project Muse Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, c1995- .

Project Muse provides access to the full text of journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Search or browse the 26,000+ e-Journals licensed by the Cornell University Library.

 

Google Scholar - Get it Cornell

Look for Get it Cornell links in your Google Scholar search results. These links connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.


(search results open in a new window)
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait