Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

B2B Market Research  Tags: business research research_strategies  

Last update: Nov 04th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/b2b  Print Guide  RSS Updates

B2B Secondary Research             Print Page
  
 

B2B Market Research Reports

Research analyst reports on trends and competitors primarily in the IT, high-tech industry. Gartner's insights provide definitive quantification and analysis of technology markets and sub-markets.

While we don't offer a subscription to Forrester's research data, we do recommend exploring Forrester's library of 600+ free research reports. This collection may also include additional data from JupiterResearch, acquired by Forrester in 2008.  

IBISWorld provides industry research reports and profiles for over 700 United States industries as well as a wide range of industries in China. Use IBISWorld when you need either full reports or one-page snapshots on industries in US and China.

 

Research & Compare Market Players

Use CareerSearch to screen for a set of companies, both U.S. and international, based on selected criteria. You can screen by location, industry, product and keyword, market size and number of employees.
CareerSearch will also help create a list of potential competitors which can then be downloaded into Excel and other formats.



This database lists company overviews, competitors, Initial Public Offering filings, calendar and performance data.
Search ThomasNet to find and compare manufacturers, distributors and service providers. The site offers free access to over 170,000 companies, 68,000 product and service categories and thousands of online suppliers catalogs and Web site links.
 

International Market Indicators

Produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit, this database provides economic and industry data on 60 major countries worldwide and 11 regional aggregates.

A marketing tool that contains data for many countries on market sizes, market data & forecasts, companies and brands. Also includes access to full text of the market research reports containing market analysis.

Market/Industry News

Keep track of what is being written about your market, competitors, trends and opportunities. Media coverage can be a great source of most recent information for even the smallest or niche industries.

  • Business and Company Resource Center  
      
    Includes trade periodicals and industry overviews for global industries and companies.
  • Business Source Premier  
      
    TIP: Choose the "Company Profiles" tab to read Datamonitor reports for global companies. Premiere source for SWOT analyses.
  • Factiva  
      
    Did you know that the first page you land on when you visit Factiva allows you to "browse" through recent editions of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times or Washington Post?
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe  
      
    Contains thousands of newspapers, newswires, legal cases, patents, and trade journals.
 
 

More on Gartner...

Garner's analyst reports are known for their comprehensive market overviews. However, there are several other Gartner tools that provide quicker and sometimes a more up-to-date view of a given market/industry.

1. Magic Quadrants:
Gartner’s Magic Quadrant is often considered the iconic piece of analyst research. 

The purpose of a Magic Quadrant is to offer a snapshot - not a definitive view - of a technology market. It acts as a visual “Strategic Planning Assumption” tool and covers all markets: software, hardware, services. SageCircle’s 7-part series about the MQ is a great review of this analyst tool.

2. MarketScopes:
Gartner’s MarketScopes provide an overall rating of market strength and potential. This is particularly important in emerging markets, when hype is high and it is difficult to assess the long-term viability or evolution of offerings. In mature markets, MarketScopes provide insight about the ongoing value of products and services. MarketScopes also provide ratings for selected vendors based on market-critical criteria listed in the above figure.

3. Hype Cycles:
Gartner’s Hype Cycles provide a graphic representation of the maturity and adoption of technologies and applications, and how they are potentially relevant to solving real business problems and exploiting new opportunities. Gartner Hype Cycle methodology gives a view of how a technology or application will evolve over time:

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait