Atlases & MapsBiographical SourcesCountry OverviewsHistories & ChronologiesLanguage DictionariesSpecialized Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

MIDDLE EAST STUDIES: a guide to resources in English  Tags: middle_east islam  

Selected English-language sources useful for the study of the Middle East and Islam
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/middle_east_studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Language Dictionaries             Print Page
  
 

Arabic Bilingual Dictionaries

  • A Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic (Arabic-English) - Hans Wehr
    Call Number: Kroch Asia Reference PJ6640 .W43 1994
  • al-Mawrid, a Modern English-Arabic Dictionary - Munir Baʻalbaki
    Call Number: Kroch Asia Reference PJ6640 .B352004
 

Turkish Bilingual Dictionaries

  • The Oxford Turkish Dictionary - Fahir İz, H.C. Hony, A.D. Alderson
    Call Number: Olin Reference PL191 .I98 1992
 

Persian Bilingual Dictionaries

  • The New Unabridged English-Persian Dictionary - Abbas Aryanpur (Kashani)
    Call Number: Olin Reference PK6379 .A79
  • The Aryanpur Progressive English-Persian Persian-English Dictionary - Manūchihr-i Aryānpūr Kāshāni
    Call Number: Olin Reference PK6379 .A67 2006
 
 

Linguistics

  • Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics
    Call Number: Olin Reference PJ6031 .E5 2006 +
    Covers all aspects of the study of Arabic at all levels of the language (pre-Classical, Classical, Modern Standard, vernaculars, and mixed varieties).
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait