Atlases & MapsBiographical SourcesCountry OverviewsHistories & ChronologiesLanguage DictionariesSpecialized Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

MIDDLE EAST STUDIES: a guide to resources in English  Tags: middle_east islam  

Selected English-language sources useful for the study of the Middle East and Islam
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/middle_east_studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

News Sources             Print Page
  

Contemporary News Databases

  • MideastWire.com  
    Provides a daily newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora. 2005 - present.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
    Full-text of a number of large- and medium-size newspapers around the world; transcripts of broadcast news shows, interviews, and press conferences; local and state business publications; and international wire services.
  • World News Connection  
    A foreign news service from the U.S. government that provides English translations for international newspaper articles and radio/television broadcasts. Coverage begins in 1997.
  • Library Press Display (ProQuest)  
    Full-color pdfs. Coverage: current 60 days. All languages. Includes newspapers from several Middle Eastern countries.
  • Keesing's World News Archive  
    Authoritative monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs. 1960 - present. Keesing's is the standard for thorough, objective coverage of significant events for every country as well as major international organizations.
  • ABYZ News Links  
    A collection of links to news sites worldwide. Mostly current only. Includes television, radio, and online news sources. All languages.
  • Access World News  
      
    Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local,

Historical Newspaper Databases & Indexes

 

Finding Newspapers

Consult these guides for finding newspapers in the library:

Finding Blogs

  • Google Blog Search  
    Google's blog index ("all blogs not just those published through Blogger") is continually updated; search not just for blogs written in English, but also other languages including Arabic, Hebrew, Persian, and Turkish.
  • Technorati  
    Technorati indexes the "live web." Search blogs and the other user-generated content such as photos and videos. Ability to limit blog posts to Arabic, Hebrew, Persian, and Turkish.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait