Atlases & MapsBiographical SourcesCountry OverviewsHistories & ChronologiesLanguage DictionariesSpecialized Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

MIDDLE EAST STUDIES: a guide to resources in English  Tags: middle_east islam  

Selected English-language sources useful for the study of the Middle East and Islam
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/middle_east_studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Images             Print Page
  

Licensed Image Databases available at Cornell

  • ARTstor  
    Database of digital images for education and scholarship. Covers images of Middle Eastern art and architecture, decorative arts, such as calligraphy, the book arts, ceramics, glass, metalwork, and textiles, as well as photography and other forms.
  • AccuNet/AP multimedia archive  
    Online photo library containing the AP's current photos from their 50 million image print and negative library, as well as charts, graphs, tables, and maps from the AP's graphics portfolio.

Images on the Web

  • Saudi Aramco World Digital Archive  
    Contains more than 40,000 historic and current images of the Middle East and the Islamic world. Most of the images online are published and unpublished images from the bimonthly magazine Aramco World, from 1964 to 2000, and Saudi Aramco World, to current.
  • Flickr  
    A popular, free online photo sharing site containing millions of photos, including current events like protests in Egypt or the Iraq War. You can limit your search to photos with different Creative Commons licenses.
  • Flickr Commons  
    Photos from various cultural institutions in the world including the Library of Congress. Flickr users can add tags and comments to add to the knowledge of the photographs. A special "no known copyright restrictions" is applied.
  • LIFE Photo Archive (hosted by Google)  
    Search millions of photos from the magazine's archive (published and unpublished). 19th century to the present.
  • Arab Image Foundation  
    Images from early 19th century to the present. Register to view and save full-size images.
  • ArchNet Digital Library  
    ArchNet is an "international online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilisations."
  • Middle East Photograph Archive (Univ. of Chicago)  
    Online archive of early photographs.
  • Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog  
    Includes Abdul-Hamid II Collection (1,800 photos in albums ca. 1880-1893) and Matson Negative Collection (over 13,000 negatives from 1898-1946).
  • The Middle East in Early Prints & Photographs (NYPL Digital Gallery)  
    Several thousand images contained in works from the 17th to early 20th century.
  • Williams Afghan Media Project  
    Photos of Afghanistan from the late 19th century to the Soviet occupation.
 

Reference Books

  • The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture - Jonathan M. Bloom and Sheila S. Blair, eds.
    Call Number: Fine Arts Library N6260 .G75 2009
    "Deals with all aspects of Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Africa to Central, South, and East Asia and includes entries on artists, rulers, writers, ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, calligraphy, textiles, and more" (publisher). v. 1. Abarquh-Dawlat Qatar -- v. 2. Delhi-mosque -- v. 3. Mosul-Zirid.
  • Dictionary of Islamic Architecture - Andrew Petersen
    Call Number: Fine Arts Library Reference NA380 .P48 1996
    Entries include "definitions of architectural terms, descriptions of specific monuments and summaries of regional and historic groups" (Preface). Includes non-Arab Islamic cultures. Noted for its inclusion of non-Arab Islamic cultures.
 
 

More Info

Finding Images at Cornell
Quick overview of searching for images in the databases Cornell University Library has built or licenses. Also, covers image search engines, digital collections, stock images, and photo-sharing sites.

Isfahan (photo by Horizon on Flickr. Creative Commons License)

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait