Atlases & MapsBiographical SourcesCountry OverviewsHistories & ChronologiesLanguage DictionariesSpecialized Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

MIDDLE EAST STUDIES: a guide to resources in English  Tags: middle_east islam  

Selected English-language sources useful for the study of the Middle East and Islam
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/middle_east_studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Biographical Sources             Print Page
  
 

Biographical Sources in Olin & Uris Reference

  • Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa - Michael R. Fischbach, editor in chief
    Call Number: Olin Reference CT1866 .B56 2008+
    Current biographies of more than 300 prominent contemporary individuals (including from Afghanistan). Michael R. Fischbach, ed. 2 vols.
  • Biographical Dictionary of the Middle East - Yaacov Shimoni
    Call Number: Uris Library Reference DS62.4 .S55 1991
    "Includes about 500 20th-century figures, living and deceased, of political significance, with author's assessment of their importance and some portraits." (Guide to Reference)
  • Political Leaders of the Contemporary Middle East and North Africa - Bernard Reich, ed.
    Call Number: Uris Library Reference DS61.5 .P76
    Profiles of over 70 leaders who have made political contributions since WWII.
  • Biographical Dictionary of Modern Egypt - Arthur Goldschmidt, Jr.
    Call Number: Olin Library DT97 .G65x 1999 +
    "Covers 400 persons from the late 18th century to the present. Excludes the Sudan and Egyptians living overseas but includes some French and British in Egypt. Articles have excellent references in English, French, and Arabic. Substantial terminal bibliography and subject index." (Guide to Reference)
  • Who's Who in the Arab World
    Call Number: Olin Reference D198.3 .W62 (latest volume in Reference)
  • Who's Who in Lebanon
    Call Number: Olin Reference DS80.75 W62 (latest volume in Reference)
  • Who’s Who in Israel and Jewish personalities from all over the world
    Call Number: Olin Reference DS125.3.A2 W62
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait