Atlases & MapsBiographical SourcesCountry OverviewsHistories & ChronologiesLanguage DictionariesSpecialized Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

MIDDLE EAST STUDIES: a guide to resources in English  Tags: middle_east islam  

Selected English-language sources useful for the study of the Middle East and Islam
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/middle_east_studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Specialized Encyclopedias & Dictionaries             Print Page
  
 

History, Culture, Politics, and Religion (with an emphasis on Islam)

  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online - John L. Esposito, editor in chief
    A collection of English-language reference resources on the Islamic world. Includes The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, and the new Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World (Olin Ref DS35.53 .O96 2009). Plus, two classic interpretations of the Qur'an by A.J. Arberry and Abdel S. Haleem; Hanna Kassis' A Concordance of the Qur'an in English; What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam; primary source documents; Islamic date converter; timelines; maps and other images.
  • Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa - Philip Mattar, ed.
    Call Number: Print version: Olin Reference DS43 .E53 2004 +
    Coverage from 1800 - present. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy, and government.
  • Encyclopaedia of Islam Online
    Call Number: Print version (2nd ed.): Olin Library Room 602 (Non-Circulating) DS37 .E56 1954 +
    Comprehensive reference work in English on all aspects of Islam written by leading scholars. Includes new entries from the 3rd edition (Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE). Condensed version of this work is available: Islamic Desk Reference - Olin Library Oversize DS35.53 .I83x 1994 + (also online)
  • Encyclopedia Iranica - Ehsan Yarshater, ed.
    Call Number: Print version: Olin Library Room 602 (Non-Circulating) DS253 .E56 +
    Focuses on the land, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies. Work ongoing (1982 - )
  • Encyclopedia Judaica - Michael Berenbaum and Fred Skolnik, eds.
    Call Number: Print version: Olin Reference DS102.8 .E496 2007 +
    Includes more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. 2nd ed. 22 vols.
  • Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World - Richard C. Martin, ed.
    Call Number: Print version: Olin Reference BP40 .E525x 2004 +
    Contextualizes Islam’s role in the modern world. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
  • Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures - Suad Joseph, ed.
    Call Number: Print version: Olin Reference HQ1170 .E53 2003 +
    Comprehensive reference work on gender studies and the Islamic world. Critical essays cover women, Muslim and non-Muslim, and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. Coverage is from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. 6 vols.
  • Encyclopedia of the Qurʾān - Jane Dammen McAuliffe, general editor
    Call Number: Print version: Olin Reference BP133 .E53 2001 +
    Comprehensive reference work on Quranic terms concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis.
  • New Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel - Geoffrey Wigoder, ed.
    Call Number: Olin Reference DS149 .E56 1994 +
    Entries in this two-volume set illustrate the history of Zionism and the development of the state of Israel.
  • The Continuum Political Encyclopedia of the Middle East - Avraham Sela, ed.
    Call Number: Olin Reference DS62.8 .P64x 2002
    Covers contemporary political history of the Middle East with an emphasis on the last 2 decades of the 20th century.
  • The Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict: A Political, Social, and Military History - Spencer C. Tucker, ed.
    Call Number: Olin Reference DS119.7.E5653 2008+
    General reference covering the conflict.
  • The Columbia World Dictionary of Islamism - Olivier Roy and Antoine Sfeir, eds.
    Call Number: Olin Reference BP40 .D5313 2007 +
    Covers organizations, individuals, and countries in a historical and global context. (English translation by John King, Columbia University Press.)
  • Cities of the Middle East and North Africa: a historical encyclopedia - Michael R.T. Dumper and Bruce E. Stanley, editors; foreword by Janet L. Abu-Lughod
    Call Number: Olin Reference HT147.5 .C574 2006 +
    Essays on 100 cities in the Middle East and North Africa.
  • Medieval Islamic Civilization: an encyclopedia - Josef W. Meri, ed.
    Call Number: Olin Reference DS36.85 .M434 2006 +
    2 volume reference work by scholars in the field covering all aspects of Medieval Islamic civilization. Includes selective bibliographies at the end of each entry.
  • Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Volume IX: Africa and the Middle East
    Call Number: Olin Reference GN307 .E56 1991
    Provides historical, social, political, economic, linguistic and religious information about cultural groups in the Middle East. Selective bibliographies are provided at the end of each article, as well as a detailed subject index and an index of cultural group name variations (ethnonyms).
  • The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women’s Issues Worldwide. Vol. 5: The Middle East and North Africa
    Call Number: Olin Reference HQ1726.G74x 2003 +
    Covers contemporary women's issues in: Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.
  • Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States - Jocelyne Cesari, ed.
    Call Number: Olin Reference BP67.U6 E53 2007 +
  • A Concordance of the Qurʾan - Hanna E. Kassis; foreword by Fazlur Rahman
    Call Number: Olin Reference BP133 .K19
    Uses transliterated Arabic terms. Arrangement is according to the Latin alphabet, but words are found under their Arabic roots. The index consists of English terms which refer to the Arabic roots and terms, hence usable even for non-Arabic speakers. NOW ONLINE IN OXFORD ISLAMIC STUDIES ONLINE.
 

Linguistics, Literature, Film, and Theatre

  • Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics - Kees Versteegh, general editor
    Call Number: Olin Reference PJ6031 .E5 2006 +
    Covers all aspects of the study of Arabic at all levels of the language (pre-Classical, Classical, Modern Standard, vernaculars, and mixed varieties).
  • Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature - Julie Scott Meisami and Paul Starkey, eds.
    Call Number: Olin Reference PJ7510.E53x 1998
    Signed entries on writers, movements, places, terms, and genres. Covers pre-Islamic period to contemporary.
  • Modern Arabic Literature - compiled and edited by Roger Allen
    Call Number: Library Annex PJ 7538 M68 1987
    Contains critical writings of the "most important" authors and works in the 20th century Arabic literature. An index to critics and a "works mentioned" section are included at the back of the book.
  • Modern Arabic Literature: A bibliography - Ragai N. Makar, ed.
    Call Number: Olin Library Z3014.L56 M35x 1998
    "The 2,548 entries in this bibliography are arranged topically by subject and cover a wide geographic area of modern Arab language literature. Books, book chapters, periodical literature, and individual poems are represented, mostly in English, but also in Arabic and French." (Guide to Reference)
  • Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film
    Call Number: Olin Reference PN1993.5.A65 C66x 2001 +
    Outstanding overview articles dealing with film in the Middle East, North Africa, and Turkey.
  • The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre. Vol. 4: The Arab World
    Call Number: Olin Reference PN1861 .W67w 1994 +
    Provides national profiles and a few topical essays.
  • Types of the Folktale in the Arab World: a demographically oriented tale-type index - Hasan M. El-Shamy
    Call Number: Olin Reference GR268.A73 E42 2004
    An index and preliminary analysis of folktales told by the diverse ethnic groups that populate the Arab World.
 

Art & Architecture

  • The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture - Jonathan M. Bloom and Sheila S. Blair, eds.
    Call Number: Fine Arts Library N6260 .G75 2009
    "Deals with all aspects of Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Africa to Central, South, and East Asia and includes entries on artists, rulers, writers, ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, calligraphy, textiles, and more" (publisher). v. 1. Abarquh-Dawlat Qatar -- v. 2. Delhi-mosque -- v. 3. Mosul-Zirid.
  • Dictionary of Islamic Architecture - Andrew Petersen
    Call Number: Fine Arts Library Reference NA380 .P48 1996
    Entries include "definitions of architectural terms, descriptions of specific monuments and summaries of regional and historic groups" (Preface). Includes non-Arab Islamic cultures. Noted for its inclusion of non-Arab Islamic cultures.
 

Law

  • Encyclopedia of Islamic Law: a Compendium of the Views of the Major Schools - Adapted by Laleh Bakhtiar; introduction by Kevin Reinhart.
    Call Number: Olin Library BP150 .B35x 1996
    "The various schools of law are compared and contrasted on all issues of the Shariah, including individual worship (purification, prescribed prayer, prescribed fasting, prescribed charity, and prescribed pilgrimage), economic issues including inheritance, endowments, wills and bequests, legal disability, and social issues of marriage and divorce." (Guide to Reference)
  • Legal Systems of the World: a Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia - edited by Herbert M. Kritzer
    Call Number: Olin Reference K48 .L44x 2002 +
    "Profiles the legal systems and judiciaries of practically every country, U.S. state, and Canadian province in signed articles. Each profile also provides a map of the country or other entity; basic facts about its population, geography, and culture; a brief history; and information on judges and others who work in its courts. Topics of other contributions include transnational systems, such as those of the International Court of Justice and International Criminal Court; general systems (e.g., religious legal systems); systems of jurisprudence; legal subfields; and key concepts. Cross-references and a brief bibliography follow each article. Glossary and index." (Guide to Reference)
  • J¯ami` al-fiqh al-Isl¯am¯i: Encyclopedia of Islamic jurisprudence - Misr: b Harf , 1998
    Call Number: Olin Library Electronic Text Center on CD-Rom Disk BP150 .J36 1998
 

Science, Technology, Medicine

 

Bibliographies

  • Arabic Materials in English Translation: a bibliography of works from the pre-Islamic period to 1977
    Call Number: Olin Reference Z3014.L56 A54
    A bibliography of over 1600 English translations of original Arabic works. Covers areas such as history, philosophy, classical Arabic literature, and modern Arabic literature (up to 1977).
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait