Histories & Chronologies
- Cambridge Histories Online
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Includes the works on Africa, Arabic Literature, Egypt, Iran, Islam, and Turkey. - Historical tables, 58 BC-AD 1990 - S.H. Steinberg; foreword by G.P. Gooch.
Call Number: Most recent verion in Library Annex D11 .S83x 1991; earlier editions in stacks and reference
"Chronology of world history, arranged in six parallel columns by period, beginning with 58 BCE, when Caesar subdued Gaul, and covering through the 1990s. Up to World War I, political history is subdivided by geographic areas, with additional headings for constitutional and economic history, ecclesiastical history, and cultural life (these vary slightly according to period). After 1914, the columns are divided only by geographic area. Index of countries; personal names; events." (Guide to Reference) - Chronology of World History: a calendar of principal events from 3000 B.C. to A.D. 1973 - G. S. P. Freeman-Grenville
Call Number: Olin Reference D11 .F85
Historical Dictionaries
Historical Dictionaries
The volumes in this series by Scarecrow Press
provides a brief overview of the history and development of countries,
regions, organizations, movements, and religions. Search the library
catalog by title for "Historical dictionary of" (e.g. Historical
Dictionary of Egypt) to find volumes available at Cornell.
- Historical Dictionary of Afghanistan
- Historical Dictionary of Algeria
- Historical Dictionary of Arab and Islamic Organizations
- Historical Dictionary of Egypt
- Historical Dictionary of Iran
- Historical Dictionary of Iraq
- Historical Dictionary of Islam
- Historical Dictionary of Islamic fundamentalist movements in the Arab world, Iran, and Turkey
- Historical Dictionary of Israel
- Historical Dictionary of Israeli Intelligence
- Historical dictionary of Judaism
- Historical Dictionary of Lebanon
- Historical Dictionary of Libya
- Historical Dictionary of Morocco
- Historical Dictionary of Palestine
- Historical Dictionary of Prophets in Islam and Judaism
- Historical Dictionary of Saudi Arabia
- Historical Dictionary of Sufism
- Historical Dictionary of Syria
- Historical Dictionary of the Arab-Israeli Conflict
- Historical Dictionary of the Bahá’í Faith
- Historical Dictionary of the Coptic Church
- Historical Dictionary of the Crusades
- Historical Dictionary of the Druzes
- Historical Dictionary of the Gulf Arab States
- Historical Dictionary of the Kurds
- Historical Dictionary of the non-aligned movement and Third World
- Historical Dictionary of the Ottoman Empire
- Historical Dictionary of the Persian Gulf War, 1990-1991
- Historical Dictionary of the Sudan
- Historical Dictionary of Tunisia
- Historical Dictionary of Turkey
- Historical Dictionary of United States-Middle East relations
- Historical Dictionary of Yemen
- Historical Dictionary of Zionism
Handbooks
- A Middle East Studies Handbook - Jere L. Bacharach
Call Number: Olin Reference DS61 .B11 1984 +
This handbook includes lists of dynasties, rulers and administrators; a detailed chronology; historical atlases; Islamic calendar and conversion table; and explanation of transliteration systems and Islamic names. - Handbook of Political Science Research on the Middle East and North Africa - Bernard Reich, ed.
Call Number: Olin Library JQ1758 .A58x 1998
"Surveys the literature on political themes in the Middle East and North Africa, covering post–World War II research on traditional political themes, political economy, and contemporary history. Organized by studies of individual countries, each of which follows a common framework and includes references. Appendix describes reference works for Middle East politics, economics, and society and lists of major research centers and institutes in the Middle East. Subject index, name index." (Guide to Reference)
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait