Indexes & Guides
- Lexis-Nexis Statistical
Includes an index to over 100,000 U.S. and international government, state, local, privately-produced and statistical publications from 1973 to present, abstracts and tables, and background information. - OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web - University of Auckland Library
Searchable by country, by world region, and by topic. The world regions list is particularly valuable, and the site is well-maintained. - Statistics Sources
Call Number: Olin Reference Z 7551.S79 (available at Reference Desk)
A country-by-country guide to statistics sources for a wide variety of topics. Lists statistics-gathering bodies and, in many cases, specific publications.
International & Supranational Organizations
|
For more sources besides those listed here, see these guides:
|
- Arabstats - United Nations Development Programme on Governance in the Arab Region (UNDP-POGAR)
Arabstats is "a repository of statistical indicators for human development in the region. They concern governance and Arab progress toward the millennial goals set by the international community for all developing countries" (web site). - The Arab Human Development Report
Call Number: Print version: Olin Library Oversize HC498.A1 A73 +
Published by the United Nations, these reports cover statistics related to: demographics, social indicators, economic indicators, infrastructure, and the environment. - Gender and Citizenship Initiative - United Nations Development Programme on Governance in the Arab Region (UNDP-POGAR)
Includes country profiles covering women in public life, statistics, UN conventions, publications, and web sites. - The World’s Women, 2005: progress in statistics. - United Nations Centre for Social Development and Humanitarian Affairs
Call Number: Olin Reference HQ1154 .W95 2006 +
First published in 1991 and available every 5 years. The focus of this report is "on the state of national statistics useful for addressing gender concerns...reviews the current availability of data and assesses progress made in the provision of gender statistics during the past 30 years" (preface). Areas covered: population, households and families; health; education and training; work; violence against women; poverty, decision-making and human rights. - The World’s Women, 1970-1990 : trends and statistics. - United Nations Centre for Social Development and Humanitarian Affairs
Call Number: Olin Library HQ1154 .W921 1991 +
"Presents statistics on women in 207 countries and areas. Introduction summarizes the United Nations' main findings on trends and future directions in women's status. Six chapters provide summaries, charts, graphs, and statistical tables on population, women and men in families, health, education and communication, work, and human rights and political decision-making. Age of data varies; some figures in the 2000 edition go back to 1990, although more recent numbers are also presented. Appendixes list countries covered and statistical sources." (Guide to Reference) - Statistical Record of Women Worldwide - Linda Schmittroth, editor.
Call Number: Olin Reference HQ1150 .S73x 1995 - Statistical, Economic and Social Research and Training Centre for Islamic Countries (SESRIC)
- Arab Legal Portal - United Nations Development Programme on Governance in the Arab Region (UNDP-POGAR)
Databases are all in Arabic. - USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse (DEC)
USAID funded technical and program documentation. Search reports by subjects and/or country.
Historical Statistics
- International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania 1750-1993
Call Number: Olin Reference HA4675 .M552x 1998
Presents comparative statistics for 80 African and Asian countries (including Cyprus, Turkey, and the Near East), derived from official governmental and intergovernmental publications, and supplemented by unofficial sources. Dates of coverage vary, but the majority of tables begin during the first half of the 19th century. Topics include climate, population, labor force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport and communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts. - The Arab World, Turkey, and the Balkans (1878-1914): a handbook of historical statistics
Call Number: Olin Reference HA4556 .M47 +
Statistics on the Ottoman state, provinces, and people during 1878-1914. Contains selective statistics "published by the Ottoman government or drawn from the Ottoman archives" (preface).
More information...
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait