Research Tips
See Search Tips: Articles for more information.
Look for Get it Cornell links to retrieve full text articles online.
All databases and journals can also be found in the Library Catalog.
Recommended general subject database to start your search for articles
Research Library (ProQuest). Ann Arbor: Bell & Howell, 1986- .
Click on the Databases Selected link to select and search other ProQuest databases, including a selection of Historical Databases:
- APS Online (American Periodicals Series) 1740-1900
- ProQuest Historial Newspapers
- New York Times 1851-2005
- Wall Street Journal 1889-1991
- Washington Post 1877-1992
Also try the multidisciplinary Academic Source Premier database.
Articles and Databases
Browse or Search for articles, databases or images on your topic in Cornell University Library databases.
Database Search Options:
Article Search Options:
- Use the Articles search from the Library Homepage to do simple searches from selected databases.
- Use the Advanced search to find articles in one or more databases in a particular subject area.
Music Databases
Search for Hip-Hop articles in these music databases:
- Music Index Data from more than 640 international music periodicals. A broad range of subjects are indexed, covering musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Online) Thousands of citations on international music corresponding to the printed RILM Abstracts of Music Literature. Includes all data from the RILM printed year 1967 to the present.
- rock's backpages Rock reviews, articles and interviews from the late 1950s to the present day.
Other "Hip-Hop" Databases
Think History, Sociology, Anthropology, Literature, and Film, as well as Music databases for Hip-Hop scholarship. A selection of possibilities:
- America, History and Life Contains articles on all aspects of American History.
- Historical Abstracts Contains articles on world history, excluding America and Canada.
- Black Studies Database
- MLA Bibliography LIterary criticism, film reviews, and more.
- Humanities International Index
- Sociological Abstracts
Provides citations from 1963 to the present, and abstracts since 1974, to journal articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations. - AnthroSource Covers political, medical, cultural, and legal anthropology; ethnology; education; humanism; archaeology; nutrition; gender issues; and linguistics.
E-Journal Collections
e-Journal Collections
JSTOR New York, NY: JSTOR, c1996-.
Project Muse Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, c1995- .
Search or browse the 26,000+ e-Journals licensed by the Cornell University Library.
Google Scholar - Get it Cornell
Look for Get it Cornell links in your Google Scholar search results. These links connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.
(search results open in a new window)
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait