Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Music 2501.1: Researching Hip-Hop (Spring 2009)  Tags: music research popular_culture history hip_hop  

A guide to research strategies, information resources, and library services for a Spring 2009 course on researching Cornell's Hip-Hop collection.
Last update: Apr 15th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/music2501  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Newspapers             Print Page
  
 

Quick Guide

Cornell University Library Newspaper Guides:

Finding the News

American Historical Newspapers Online

Find it!: Newspapers, Magazines and Current Events

 
 

On the Web

Newspaper web sites:

Cornell Daily Sun

Ithaca Journal

New York Times

  • Current news
  • Free archive?
  • Print vs Digital

News Aggregators:

Google News

hotsheet.com

  • Multiple choices
  • Comparative analysis
  • Segmentation/Specialization
  •  

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Library Newspaper Resources

    Databases:

    Cornell Daily Sun (Digital Archive)

    Aggregator databases:

    Proquest Historical Newspapers

    Lexis Nexis Academic Universe

    Subject databases:

    Ethnic NewsWatch

    GenderWatch

     

    Images, Media and Multimedia

    AP Images

    New York Times Video

     

    Print and Microforms

    Many small and older newspapers only exist in analog formats -- print or microfilm.  Many do not have indexes for identifying and locating articles.

    New York Amsterdam News

    Title: New York Amsterdam news [electronic resource].
    Published: New York, N.Y. : Powell-Savory Corp.,
    Description: Vol. 41, no. 30 (May 26, 1962)-
    Electronic Access: Full text available from MasterFILE Select: 09/28/1996 to present. Connect to full text.
    Full text available from Academic Search Premier: 09/28/1996 to present. Connect to full text.
    Full text available from Ethnic NewsWatch: 01/02/1993 to present. Connect to full text.

    Title: New York Amsterdam news.
    Published: New York.
    Description: v.
    Dec. 4, 1909-
    Frequency: Weekly (slightly irregular)
    Subjects: African American newspapers.
    Newspapers --New York (N.Y.)
    Other Titles: Amsterdam news Dec. 4, 1909-Aug. 6, 1919
    New York star and Amsterdam news Jan. 11-Feb. 1, 1941
    New York Amsterdam star news Feb. 8, 1941-Mar. 27, 1943
    Donor: Class of 1928 Mariani Schiff

    Location: Africana Library (Africana Center)
    Call Number: Film 74
    Status: Not Charged
    Recent Issues: (2008 Jan.-June)
    Volumes : 1929-1991
    1992:Jan.-June
    1993-1996
    1997:Jan.-June
    1998:Jan.-June
    1999:Jan.-June
    2000-2007
    Reproduction Note: Microfilm. Wooster, Ohio : Bell & Howell, microfilm reels ; 35 mm.

    Location: Africana Library (Africana Center)
    Call Number: No call number
    Notes: Current 6 months only

     

     

     
    Description

      Loading content... please wait