This is the "Databases and e-Book Collections" page of the "CHEME 4620: Chemical Process Design (Spring 2013)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CHEME 4620: Chemical Process Design (Spring 2013)   Tags: chemical_engineering, course_guide, course_guides, engineering, engineering_course_guide, patents  

Guide to searching chemical information, chemical prices, articles, news, and patents.
Last Updated: Apr 25, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/cheme4620 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Databases and e-Book Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Top Databases

 Here is a list of top databases and e-book collections you will use in your research. See also our list of Databases A-Z list on the Engineering Library homepage at http://engineering.library.cornell.edu.

Resource Description

Print books - Uris Library (course reserves, 20,000 books);
Carpenter Hall - librarians' offices, computers, study space (24 hours). Ask a Librarian - video.
Online - website leads to thousands of e-books and journals

Databases A-Z

VIVO - expertise database

  Information Resources for Engineering Students

http;//guides.library.cornell.edu/chem4620

http://engineering.library.cornell.edu

  • Handbooks and encyclopedias
  • Scholarly articles - video
  • Technical papers
  • Conference papers
  • Business information
  • Books
  • Patents
  • Standards

Cornell Library Catalog has records for 8 million books, Summon for article searching, and thousands of journals. Summon includes many ebook collections but lacks the complete coverage of INSPEC, Compendex, and Web of Science.

Google Scholar is better than Google because it contains many articles. But display order is by citation, not by date. Be sure to consult the library-subscribed databases below for more in-depth information.

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook

 Now available through Access Engineering (McGraw-Hill). No   longer on Knovel. Includes state-of-the-art coverage of all aspects of chemical engineering —from the fundamentals to details on computer applications and control.

Not available through Knovel, Kirk-Othmer is online separately through Wiley. Click Search this publication. Good overview of chemicals, including synthesis information, industry outlook, physical properties, commercial applications
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry       includes over 1,000 articles relating to industrial chemistry. Note "search in this book" feature to optimize searching.
ICIS Chemical Hub Page for Students, Academics Historical chemical prices, news, blogs, etc.
2,000 technical e-books, including chemical engineering. Can browse by subject. All McGraw-Hill books, including Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, have moved to Access Engineering.
Access Engineering has hundreds of McGraw-Hill books and instructional videos, Includes Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Biofuels Engineering Process Technology, and Schaum's Outlines.
  CRC EngNetBase (also NanoNetbase, ChemNetBase) 2,000 books by CRC and Taylor & Francis, including 210 books in chemical engineering (ChemicalEngineeringNetBase).
Google Patents is a good source for U.S. patents, U.S. applications, and European patents.
Patent Lens contains US patents from 1976+, European, World, and Australian patents. Contains patent applications from U.S., World, and Australia.
  Engineering Village (or Compendex) searches scholarly articles and conference papers in Compendex and INSPEC simultaneously. Over 50% of the database indexes chemical engineering journals and conferences.
   12,000 standards by the American Society for Testing of Materials. Display poster.
OnePetro has articles published by the Society of Petroleum Engineers.
Must create a free login. SciFinder indexes chemical patents as well as the chemical research literature. Provides manufacturer websites for chemicals. Click Explore Substances, then Substance Identifie to see manufacturers.
Web of Science is well known for indexing high-impact journals and showing who has cited whom. Does not include conference papers. Journal citations reports ranks journals. This video defines impact factor.
Journals

Search Journals on this page and in the Library Catalog. Ex. see OGJ Subscriber Surveys in Oil and Gas Journal.

Nelson & Farrar Cost Index

Full text business magazines, including Chemical Week. Search for CW Price Report, be sure to select Full text searching.

CEIC Data contains economic and commodity production data. Click on Search, select data, add keywords. can export to Excel.

Factiva has full text magazines and newspapers, including Platt's commodity news, Dow Jones news. See screencast.
Lexis Nexis has full text magazines and newspapers, including Chemical News, Chemical Week, Platt's publications. Easier to use than Factiva.
         Something for stress-reduction - Overdrive has popular online books available for check-out onto your electronic devices.

Engineering Librarian

Profile Image
Jill Powell
Contact Info
103A Carpenter Hall
Engineering Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
607 255-8701
Send Email
 

Management Library

Profile Image
Management Library Research Team

Contact Info:
101 Sage Hall
The Johnson School
Cornell University
607-255-3389
Send Email

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip