Online Encyclopedia Collections
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

English 1111: Writing and Renaissance 

Library Research Guide
Last update: Jan 19th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/eng1111  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Background Material             Print Page
  
 

Sample Encyclopedias

  • Dictionary of Shakespeare - McConnell, Louise
    Available online via Credo Reference.
  • All Things Shakespeare: An encyclopedia of Shakespeare’s world - Olsen, Kirstin
    Call Number: Uris Library Reference, PR2892 .O56x 2002
  • Dictionary of Shakespeare - Well, Stanley
    Available online from Oxford Reference.
    A comprehensive dictionary that covers the plays, poems, characters and background to Shakespeare's works. The dictionary also includes terms used in the theatre and stagecraft, as well as historical references and details on the Elizabethan historical and social period.

 
 

Reference Collections

There are a variety of ways to identify useful reference sources.

Perhaps the most efficient approach is to Ask a Librarian!

Alternatively, you might browse the Reference Collection by Call Number Classifcation.

There are also a number of online reference book collections.

 

Browse the Reference Stacks

Library of Congress Classification

A-- GENERAL WORKS - WP version
B -- PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION - WP version
C -- AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY - WP version
D -- WORLD HISTORY AND HISTORY OF EUROPE, ASIA, AFRICA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, ETC. - WP version
E -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS - WP version
F -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS - WP version
G -- GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION - WP version
H -- SOCIAL SCIENCES - WP version
J -- POLITICAL SCIENCE - WP version
K -- LAW - WP version
L -- EDUCATION - WP version
M -- MUSIC AND BOOKS ON MUSIC - WP version
N -- FINE ARTS - WP version
P -- LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE - WP version
Q -- SCIENCE - WP version
R -- MEDICINE - WP version
S -- AGRICULTURE - WP version
T -- TECHNOLOGY - WP version
U -- MILITARY SCIENCE - WP version
V -- NAVAL SCIENCE - WP version
Z -- BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE. INFORMATION RESOURCES (GENERAL) - WP version

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait