Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

English 1185: Rights and Fictions  Tags: human_rights literature linguistics_language_literature  

A guide to print and online resources for students in Professor Chase's English 1185 class.
Last update: Feb 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/english1185cc  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Primary Sources             Print Page
  
 

Primary Sources

PRIMARY SOURCE DATABASES

The Library provides networked access to many more full-text, primary source databases than can be listed here. Others may be located through the Library Catalog and Find It! Databases, which contains an alphabetical list of online resources related to Linguistics, Language and Literature.

 

Literature Online. (LION)
A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources. Primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present; American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present; English drama; English prose; articles, monographs and dissertations from the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; full-text articles from literary journals; and biographical information on widely studied authors. Subsumed in the database are the contents of several Chadwyck-Healey CD-ROM products, including: The Bible in English; Database of African-American Poetry, 1760-1900; Database of Twentieth Century African American Poetry; Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare; and English Poetry.

 

Early American Imprints, 1639-1800
Online version of the microfiche set Early American imprints, 1639-1800, based on the renowned American bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American bibliography. Serves as the foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War, Early English Books Online) contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).

 

Eighteenth Century Collections Online. (ECCO)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. When completed, the full collection will include nearly 150,000 titles and more than 33,000,000 pages of searchable material.

19th Century Masterfile: a Paratext Resource.
A searchable index to periodical articles published in the United States and Great Britain during the 19th century. Corresponds in part to the printed Poole’s index to Periodical Literature.

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait