Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

English 1158.10: Capes & Capers: the Anti-Hero in American Literature & Film  Tags: american_literature literature film linguistics_language_literature  

Library research guide for students in English 1158.10
Last update: Feb 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/english115810  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Article Databases & Indexes

 General periodical indexes  Specialized Indexes  Full-text Collections

Periodical indexes (databases) identify and locate the articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Some databases provide the complete article online (the full-text). When full-text articles are not provided, click on the Get it! Cornell link to determine if the library owns the periodical you need, or search the Library Catalog directly for the book or journal title.

Here's a short video (90 seconds) about identifying scholarly or peer reviewed articles.


Note: The Find it! feature on the Library Gateway allows you to perform a very simple search across multiple databases. Because the various databases are structured differently, search results may vary widely.For more precise searching, it's best to search the databases individually. See the recommended databases below.


General Periodical Indexes

Academic Search Premier. 1984 - .

Provides indexing, abstracts (summaries) and some full-text covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.

 

Proquest Research Library. 1986 - .

Available as part of the ProQuest Direct system, Periodical Abstracts indexes and abstracts over 1500 periodicals, covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The ProQuest Direct Web interface provides the full-text, in several formats, of many articles contained in the database.

 

Return to top


Specialized Indexes

America, History and Life

A complete bibliographical reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, covering over 2000 journals published worldwide.

 

Communication Abstracts
Comprehensively covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources on a world-wide scale. Coverage includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers, such as international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions. (1977- date)

 

Humanities International Index

A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

MLA International Bibliography. 1926 - .

An index to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics. Search tip: Enter the author's name on one line and a word from the title on the next line. Set language or document-type limits, if desired. Note: MLA also provides links to full-text articles in JSTOR & Project Muse.

 

Return to top


Full-text Collections

JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive.

A full-text collection containing the back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals.

 

Project MUSE

A full-text collection of recently published articles in the social sciences and humanities.

Return to top

 


 

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait