Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

English 1168.105: Cultural Studies 

Guide to library resources for students in English 1168, Section 105
guides.library.cornell.edu/visualculture
Last update: Nov 11th, 2008 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/visualculture  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Images             Print Page
  
 

Before you start

Before you attempt to launch the browser version of Luna and ARTStor image collections, disable any pop-up blockers that your browser or browser toolbars may have activated.

For help in disabling pop-up blockers, see:

ARTstor help

Other help

If you’re using a PC with Internet Explorer, you can hold down the control key while you click to launch a collection, which will override the pop-up blocker.

Other image sources

  • Associated Press Photo Archive  
    The AccuNet/AP photo archive is an electronic library containing the AP's current photos from their 50 million image print and negative library, as well as charts, graphs, tables, and maps from th
  • American Memory (Library of Congress)  
    Provides information on, and access to, the digitized version of the Library's primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures.
  • ARTStor  
    Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data. Covers the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well asmany other forms of visual culture.
  • New York Public Library Digital Images  
    Gateway to New York Public Library's rare and unique collections in digitized form. Excellent resource for vintage American advertising ephemera.
 
 

Special Images Tutorial

 

Images in Text-based Databases

Searching for Images in Text-based Databases

JSTOR New York, NY: JSTOR, c1996-.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature.

Proquest Research Library. Ann Arbor: Bell & Howell, 1986- .

ProQuest

ProQuest Research Library indexes and abstracts an extensive number of general interest magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Click on the Databases Selected link to select and search other ProQuest databases, including a selection of Historical Databases:

  • APS Online (American Periodicals Series) 1740-1900
  • ProQuest Historial Newspapers

  • New York Times 1851-2002 Wall Street Journal 1889-1989

  • Washington Post 1877-1989 

Proquest allows users to perform advanced searches for several different types of images published in historical newspapers (i.e., The New York Times, The Washington Post and The Wall Street Journal).

Here's how:

* Launch Proquest Historical Newspapers
* Select Advanced Search
* Select More Search Options
* Use the document feature drop-down list to select among: charts, diagrams, engravings, maps, photographs, and more.
* You can also use the document type drop-down list to limit your search to editorial cartoons, recipes, interviews, obituaries, or other article types.

Academic Search Premier (and other EBSCO Host databases)


EBSCO Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 academic multi-disciplinary serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Look to the right side of the search results screen for related images. Includes some results from Getty Images.

Also try an advanced search for articles with images

 

 
 

Historical Ads

 

American Periodical Series/APS online. Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Useful for historical advertising.

 

Cartoons

Gillray cartoon

Gillray. "Maniac's Ravings, or Little Boney in a Strong Fit," 1803.

Source: Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division, Cartoon Collection.

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait