Useful Tips
Subject encyclopedias offer a very quick way to get yourself started on research topics. They are compiled by experts in the field.
To find subject encyclopedias in the library catalog do a guided keyword search for your topic. Enter one or two keyword terms in the first search row, then in the second, enter encyclop? dictionar? handbook? guide? and select any of these from the pull-down menu as additional keyword search terms.
*Question marks function as wildcard characters.
Subject Encyclopedias
The Oxford Companion to the Mind New York: Oxford UP, 2004.
(Olin Ref BF 31 .O94 2004 and online)
Provides signed definitions by numerous authorities on various aspects of the mind, including psychology, biology, and philosophy. Longer articles include references for further reading. There are selected biographies and useful illustrations and diagrams.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. Detroit : Charles Scribner’s Sons, c2005.
(Olin Ref CB9 .N49 2005 + and online)
The New Dictionary of the History of Ideas brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism.
Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising. Editors, John McDonough and the Museum of Broadcast Communications. NY: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003. 3 vols.
(Olin Library circulating: +HF5803.A38 2003)
In three volumes, this heavily-illustrated encyclopedia includes profiles of more than 120 ad agencies worldwide, essays on 80 leading agencies, detailed articles on 40 U.S. agencies, biographies of 47 major advertising figures, as well as 160 significant corporate advertisers, brands, and campaigns, 20 essays on market research methods, and 52 essays on advertising tools and operations.
Full-text Reference Books
Use these reference databases to find and access articles in a variety of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides the full text of many encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories.
Credo Reference
A searchable collection containing 100 reference sources including subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical sources and quotations. Contains over 150,000 entries of facts, words, concepts, and people.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait