Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ANTHR 1165.101: The Mandala and McDonald’s: Technology and Transformation in Cultural Perspective (Spring 2009)  Tags: anthropology globalization global_studies history  

A guide to research strategies and information resources in the Cornell University Library
Last update: Apr 13th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/anthr1165  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  
 

Research Tips

Quick Search for Databases: Use keywords to discover relevant resources.

Browse for Databases by subject. Click on a subject link to find lists of potentially useful resources.

Search for Articles within databases: You can search all, some, or individual databases from the lists provided.

Look for Get it Cornell buttons to retrieve full text articles online.

All databases and journals listed in Find it! can also be found in the Library Catalog.

 
 

Recommended database to start your search for articles

 

Research Library (ProQuest). Ann Arbor: Bell & Howell, 1986- .

ProQuest

 

Research Library indexes and abstracts an extensive number of general interest magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Full text of many articles is provided.

 

 

Articles and Databases

Browse or Search for articles, databases or images on your topic in Cornell University Library databases.

 

Database Search Options:

 

Article Search Options:

 

  • Use the Articles search from the Library Homepage to do simple searches from selected databases.
  • Use the Advanced search to find articles in one or more databases in a particular subject area.

 

 

Anthropology Databases

AnthroSource
Current issues of the American Anthropological Association journals and bulletins, plus searchable archived issues of all the Association's publications, <1888-2003>. Covers political, medical, cultural, and legal anthropology; ethnology; education; humanism; archaeology; nutrition; gender issues; and linguistics.  

Anthropology plus
Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. 

SocIndex
Comprehensive article database with abstracts for more than 590 Sociology journals dating back to 1895 as well as coverage of other social science disciplines.

 

Area Studies Databases

Bibliography of Asian studies
Contains more than 640,000 records on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Africa-Wide: NiPAD
African Studies is an exclusive combination of 16 databases from three continents providing access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
Bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.

 

 

e-Journal Collections

JSTOR New York, NY: JSTOR, c1996-.

JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business and other fields.

Project Muse Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, c1995- .

Project Muse provides access to the full text of journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Search or browse the 26,000+ e-Journals licensed by the Cornell University Library.

 

Google Scholar search

Look for Get it Cornell links to access journal articles from the Library.


(search results open in a new window)
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait