ACS Style Guide
The ACS style guide : effective communication of scientific information - American Chemical Society
Call Number: QD8.5 .A25 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0841239991
Physical Sciences Library Reference (non-circulating)
Current Awareness
How do you keep current with the literature in your field? See this guide, Keeping Current: Chemistry
Reference Access and Managment
How do you keep track of hundreds of citations? Change formatting to different styles so you can submit papers for publication? This class will demonstrate RefWorks, which allows you to do all the above and more. We will import references from SciFinder Scholar into RefWorks and show how to format these references and print bibliographies. We will also demonstrate the "cite while you write" feature. We will also review the many new software options available in citation management beyond RefWorks. Lastly, we will introduce strategies in current awareness, including table of contents alerts, subject alerts, and citation alerts.
Acessing Print and E-Journals
CUL has purchased subscriptions to thousands of chemistry-related journals. As a member of the Cornell community, you have access to these resources, on and off-campus. Here's how:
- Find Journals
- Library Catalog contains all print and e-journals (also, try out the new beta catalog)
- Find e-Journals a quick way to find our e-journals
- E-journals in the Physical Sciences, PSL's list of e-journals. Check the catalog if you don't see what you're looking for
- Library Catalog contains all print and e-journals (also, try out the new beta catalog)
- GetIt! Cornell
- Within many databases, websites, and even Goggle Scholar (if you set your preferences), you'll see GetIt! Cornell links. This is a link to our OpenURL resolver, which parses together information such as journal, title, author, and looks for a direct link to the article, if available. Note: while this can be very useful, it's not perfect due to the wide variety of metadata. If GetIt! doesn't find a link, check the catalog to be sure.
- ILL and Document Delivery
- CUL Annex Nearly half of PSL's print holdings are located in the Annex storage facility. If you're looking for an article or book chapter (50 page limit), place a request and staff will scan into a PDF. Learn more about additional delivery options.
- Interlibrary Loan If CUL does not have access to the resource, request an article or book through interlibrary loan. For books, try Borrow Direct first, a rapid interlibrary loan service.
- Off-campus (or behind a firewall)?
- You can still access CUL resources off-campus if you go through the library catalog or our website links. More information on the library's technical FAQ
- You can still access CUL resources off-campus if you go through the library catalog or our website links. More information on the library's technical FAQ
Citation Management and Beyond
What are other researchers in your field reading? Would you like to share an article with your labmates? There are a host of services available for managing and sharing article citations (and in some cases, the PDFs).
| Service | Cost | Platform | PDF storage/ attach | Network /Share |
Biblio. creator (Word) |
Description |
| RefWorks | CUL provides site license | Web-based | Yes (see note) | Yes (see note) | Yes | Traditional citation manager, but includes ability to attach up to 200 MB and use RefShare to share citations with colleagues. More information... |
| Endnote | $ | Win/Mac | Yes | Yes (see note) | Yes | Traditional citation manager. Client installed on your computer, with the ability to backup and share through Endnote Web. Comparison of RefWorks and Endnote |
| Mendeley | Free | Win/Mac/Linux | Yes | Yes | Yes (alpha) | Import your bibliographic library or PDFs to a desktop client. Metadata
is autoextracted from PDFs. Save your library online, share with a
group of colleagues, keep track of aggregate trends in your field, and
much more. |
| Papers | $ | Mac only | Yes | No | No | Import PDFs, browse and search for similar papers from databases
including arXiv, Web of Science, ADS, and more. Annotate and compare PDFs, read PDFs within Papers. Currently does not have easy sharing with groups. |
| Zotero | Free | Firefox extension | No |
Yes (beta) |
Yes | "Capture" reference information as you browse the Web. Link references to files on your computer. Synching/sharing online, pdf metadata extraction (beta) |
| CiteULike | Free | Web-based | Yes | Yes | No | Social bookmarking. Save bibliographic information (private or public), attach PDFs, add tags, see who else saved this article, monitor other's libraries, groups,
and export your citations. |
| Connotea | Free | Web-based | No | Yes | No | Social bookmarking. Offers many of the same features as CiteULike (except PDF storage). Connotea is open source, so many Firefox extensions exist. Also note, Connotea allows you to set your preferences to more easily access Cornell's subscriptions off-campus (you'll be prompted for your netid). In the Toolkit, under Advanced Settings, Resolver URL, enter http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/net/openurl/? |
Many other academic networks and collaboration tools are springing up, but are currently less developed than the options above, or do not provide adequate coverage in the physical sciences. If you'd like to learn more, contact Kirsten
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait