Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

CHEM 6020: Information Literacy for the Physical Scientist (Spring 2009)  Tags: chemistry properties  

Last update: Mar 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/chem6020  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Beilstein            Print Page
  

Links

 
 

Beilstein Crossfire

The MDL Beilstein Crossfire database combines the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry and the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry into the largest property database online with a sophisticated search and retrieval interface. The Beilstein section covers the organic literature on over 9 million organic compounds, 9 million reactions and 40 million property values from 1771 to the present. The Gmelin section contains 1.6 million inorganic and organometallic compounds, 1.3 million structures, 1.3 million reactions, and over 800 chemical and physical data fields, including electric, magnetic, thermal, crystal, and physiological data.

 

Beilstein & Gmelin Contents

Database Beilstein Gmelin
Sources
  • Beilstein Handbook 1771 – 1959
  • Primary literature 1960 – present from 175 journals

  • Gmelin Handbook 1772 – 1975
  • Primary literature 1975 – present from 62 journals

Scope
  • 9.1 million compounds
  • 10 million reactions
  • 320 million experimental data facts in 425+ data fields
  • 2.2 million compounds
  • 1.6 million reactions
  • 300+ million facts in 800+ data fields
Content

organic compounds

  • Substances which contain carbon and the non-shaded elements in the periodic table below (and including Boron).

Excluding:

  • Substances which do not contain carbon.
  • Pure elements
  • CO, CS, CO2, CS2, COS, C3O2, C3S2
  • Carbonic acid and its thio analogs along with their salts with inorganic cations
  • HCN, HOCN, HSCN and corresponding iso-acids together with all metal salts and complexes of these acids
  • Dicyanogene
  • Phosgene
  • Metal carbides
  • Metal salts of formic acid, acetic acid, and oxalic acid
  • Fullerenes, which consist only of carbon
  • Carboranes

inorganic and organometallic compounds

  • All compounds containing no carbon
  • All compounds containing at least one "Gmelin Element" (shaded in the periodic table below).
  • Additionally: elemental carbon, phosgene, alloys, carbides and carbide oxides, carbonic acid and its thio- and seleno analogues, CO, CS, CO2, CS2, COS and multicomponent systems with a carbon component
  • Including:
    • Coordination compounds
    • Alloys
    • Solid solutions
    • Glasses and ceramics
    • Polymers Minerals

 

 

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait