Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Hist 1109: I Want My Mommy! (Spring 2009)  Tags: history  

History 1109: Motherhood and Womenhood in the Italian Renaissance
Last update: Mar 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/hist1109  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background             Print Page
  
 

Tips

Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • educating yourself quickly
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography
 

General

Gale virtual reference library Excellent collection of full text encyclpoedias.

Reference universe. Search the back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias in a wide variety of subject areas.

Oxford Reference Online Outstanding collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions.

Dictionary

  • Oxford English Dictionary Online  
      
    The OED Online contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition, its three-volume Additions Series, and also draft material from the revision programme, which represents the latest progress towards the Third Edition.
 
 

Encyclopedias

Renaissance/Early Modern

Encyclopedia of European Social History: From 1350 To 2000. 6 vols. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001. (in print at Olin and Uris Reference HN 373 .E63 2001)

The Hutchinson encyclopedia of the Renaissance

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation c2004. (Olin Library CB359 .B47 2004+)

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance 1999. (Olin Library Reference  + CB361 .E52x 1999) Six volumes.


Middle Ages

Medieval Italy: an encyclopedia  (Olin Library Reference DG443 .M43x 2004+)

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. 12 vols. New York: Scribners, 1982-1988. (Olin Reference D 114 D55+; also Uris) The classic.

 

Women and Motherhood

Women and gender in medieval Europe: an encyclopedia  c2006. (Olin Library Reference Oversize HQ1147.E85 W66 2006+)

Women in the Middle Ages: an encyclopedia c2004. (Olin Library Reference HQ1143 .W643 2004)

Encyclopedia of childbearing: critical perspectives 1993. (Mann Library RG525 .E56 1993; Uris Library Reference RG525 .E56 1993)

 

Virginia Cole

Profile Image****

Help from a librarian (you might not get me) is only a click away:




Contact Info:
Virginia Cole
106 Olin Library
607-255-5359
Send Email

Subjects:
medieval studies, history, digital reference, citation management

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait