Reference Sources

Reference Sources
For background information
Quick Reference
Credo Reference. Boston, Mass. : Credo Reference, c2007 -.
A searchable collection containing 100 reference sources including subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical sources and quotations. Contains over 150,000 entries of facts, words, concepts, and people.
Matthews, P. H. (Peter Hugoe) The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics. [online] Oxford : New York : Oxford University Press, 1997.
Brief explanations of terms and concepts.
Subject Encyclopedias
Asher, R.E. ed. The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics. Tarrytown, N.Y.: Pergamon Press, 1994. 10 vol.
(Olin Ref P29 E56+)
Broad in scope, so that interdisciplinary aspects of linguistics and language studies are covered as well as various areas of linguistics. Signed articles include authoritative bibliographies. Consult the separate Index volume for alphabetical and classified listings. Click here for a thematic list of contents. Refer to the print volumes in the Olin Reference stacks to access the articles.)
Crystal, David. The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language. 2nd ed. New York: Cambridge U, 1997.
(Olin Ref P 29. C95 C2+; also in Uris Ref)
This illustrated one-volume encyclopedia presents the major themes in language study. A glossary and index provide excellent access to the many articles. Excelllent maps, plates, photographs and charts. A bibliography is appended.
Frawley, William ed-in-chief. International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003.
(Olin Ref P 29 I61 2003+)
This updated and expanded edition of the ten-year-old International Encyclopedia of Linguistics includes 957 articles, a detailed index, and many See and See also references in the index and the text. It includes short biographies from the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics. A systematic outline and a directory of contributors remain as features.
Malmkjær, Kirsten. The Linguistics Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. London ; New York : Routledge, 2002.
(Olin Ref P 29 L52 2002) ; 2001 edition also available online through ebrary.
Entries are alphabetically arranged, extensively cross-referenced, and include suggestions for further reading. They cover over 150 major and subsidiary fields of linguistic study. Key terms and topics are defined and discussed in context, emphasized in bold type. The scope is broad: physical and mental processes connected with language, its social and cultural role and the contribution its study can make to related disciplines and professions, theory and practice of language study, and diverse approaches to language description, analysis, and interpretation.
Nadel, Lynn. Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science. 4 vols. London ; New York : Nature Pub. Group, 2003.
(Olin Reference BF311 .E53x 2003 +)
Smelser, Neil J. and Paul B. Baltes, eds. International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences. 26 vols. Amsterdam; New York: Elsevier, 2001.
(Olin Ref P 29 E483 2005; also available online through Cornell Library subscription)
Strazny, Philipp. ed. Encyclopedia of Linguistics. 2 vols. New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005.
(Olin Reference P 29 E483 2005)
Written with the non-specialist in mind, entries are arranged alphabetically and conclude with a brief bibliography. Includes languages, language families, concepts and extensive biographical entries.
Wilson, Robert A. and Frank C. Keil, eds. The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences. Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press, c1999.
(Olin Ref BF 311.M556x 1999: also available online via MIT Cognet)
A single-volume reference. It consists of about 500 authoritative, signed articles covering the entire filed of cognitive studies. The articles are arranged in alphabetical order. Access is aided by very thorough name and subject indexes. Each article also has a good, up-to-date bibliography.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait