Feature
Lisa Iwamoto & Craig Scott Lecture: "Architecture and Play" November 13, 2008: 157 E. Sibley Hall: 5:15 PM
IwamotoScott Architecture (ISAr) is a San Francisco-based practice led by Lisa Iwamoto and Craig Scott. As a practice committed to pursuing architecture as a form of applied design research, ISAr engages in projects at multiple scales and in a variety of contexts consisting of full-scale fabrications, museum installations and exhibitions, theoretical proposals, competitions, and commissioned design projects. ISAr's recent projects include Voussoir Cloud, an installation at the SCIArc gallery; HydroNet, the winning entry for City of the Future: San Francisco 2108; Jellyfish House, designed for "Open House: Technologies for Intelligent Living" curated by the Vitra Design Museum and Art Center College of Design; and REEF, designed for the MoMA/P.S. 1 2007 Young Architects Program.
Find images
The following links provide information on finding images:
- Digital image research This guide (designed to accompany the Digital Images Research workshop) will lead you through the process of identifying image collections and searching for images in licensed and Cornell-built image collections including ARTstor & Luna.
- Finding images This guide (designed to accompany the Finding Images workshop) will lead you through the process of identifying image collections and searching for images in licensed and Cornell-built image collections.
- Finding images: Cornell Visual Resources
- Managing your images Several tools that allow you to present images using a computer & digital projector. These tools are particularly useful for classroom presentations.
- Visual resources @ CUL Research tools; Research support; Digitization; Equipment and Software; and Copyright
Databases @ CUL
We recommend these subject specific resources for locating articles by and about this event feature:
Find databases links you to other electronic resources available through Cornell Library Catalog.
Some databases are only available for the Cornell community. Please use your network ID and password for access.
- Art full text
Indexes, abstracts and full-text from international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Areas covered include archaeology, architecture, art, film, humanities, marketing, motion pictures and photography. - Avery index to architectural periodicals
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.
Articles @ CUL
Articles about and by Lisa Iwamoto and Craig Scott available in CUL:
Find articles will help you find more articles in Cornell Library Catalog.
- Phenomenal surface: Fog House / - Lisa Iwamoto and Craig Scott
Journal of architectural education, 57 (2003), 2 (Nov.), 22-28.
Fine: N1 J82 - Surface / thickness translated: design-build as vehicle / - Lisa Iwamoto
Journal of architectural education, 54 (2001), 3, 185.
Fine: N1 J82 - Translations: fabricating space / - Iwamoto, Lisa
Journal of architectural education, 58 (2004), 1 (Sept.), 35-38.
Fine:N1 J82
Video's @ CUL
Video's to be found in the Fine Arts Library:
Find video recordings gives useful tips.
More titles can be found in WorldCat - .WorldCat is a catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Cent er) member libraries. Includes NetFirst database holdings.
- Ed Kelly and the fighting 47th [videorecording] / - WBBM-TV ; producer and director, Scott Craig ; writer, Michael Flannery
[Athens, GA : Peabody Recording Center, University of Georgia, 1981]. (VHS)
Olin Library Media Center: Video 3219
Websites
The following links provide information on Lisa Iwamoto and Craig Scott:
Digital images

"Voussoir Cloud, a site-specific installation by San Francisco based architecture and design practice IwamotoScott in collaboration with Buro Happold. Voussoir Cloud’s design explores the coupling of potentially conflicting constructional logics – the pure compression of a vault with an ultra-light sheet material. Opening August 8, 2008, fabricated by IwamotoScott in association with SCI-Arc students". (Source: by conarcist on Flickr).

"The curvature produces a form that relies on the internal surface tension to hold its shape and allows for a structural porosity within the constraints of sheet material. ht porous surface. The form-finding exploration of the whole is thus dependent on the geometric performance of the individual units and their relation to the gallery walls" (2008) (Source:by conarcist on Flickr ).
Video clip @ YouTube
The animation IwamotoScott presented at 2007's PS1/MOMA competition.

Loading Video Clip...
Share Articles, Books and Websites
Contact Us |
Fine Arts Library ReferenceFine Arts Library
Sibley Hall
Send Email
Subjects:
Art, Architecture, and City and Regional Planning. Landscape Architecture, Digital Images
Description
Loading content... please wait





Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait