Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 1190.103: Great Books? Exploring the Literary Tradition (Spring 2009)  Tags: course_guide english_literature literature linguistics_language_literature writing first_year_writing_seminars  

Course guide for English 1190, section 103.
guides.library.cornell.edu/greatbooks
Last update: Mar 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/greatbooks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find & Request Books             Print Page
  
 

Finding Books

Find books at the Cornell University Library using the Library of Congress classification system.

 

Basic Search Tips

CU Online Catalog

Omit the initial article from title searches. In other words, don't include the initial word if it’s a, an, or the.

When you note down call numbers, be careful to indicate if the material is shelved in the regular, oversized (+), or double oversized (++) sections.

One way to browse subject headings is use the long view, then click on the subject heading.

To limit results to a particular language, click the post limit button and select the language of your choice.

If a record says networked resource, it may be available online, but not necessarily in full text. If the reference is to a journal, check to see which years the online version covers to make sure that the article you want is available in full text. If not, check to see if Cornell has a copy of the print version.

 

Cornell Library's Home

 

CU Catalog

The Cornell University Library Catalog is a database that includes records for materials held in Cornell's non-medical libraries. Use the box on the home page for quick searching for a title, author, or keyword.

For more advanced searching, use the Guided Keyword Search in the catalog.

Online help for searching and other functions of the Cornell Library Catalog is available in Catalog Help section of the Library Gateway.

Proviso: You cannot find journal articles in the catalog. Only the titles of journals, magazines, and newspapers are listed along with the years and volumes that we own. See the next section for more information about finding periodical articles.

 

What to do if it's not available

If the catalog record indicates that the material is "charged," it means that someone else has signed out the book.  

If we do not have a BOOK in our holdings, or if the book you need is already checked out:

Borrow Direct

Click on the link above, connect to Borrow Direct, search for the book and if it's available from another Ivy League university, we will have it shipped to Cornell. Borrowing period is one month. Books arrive in 3-4 business days. (This service is for BOOKS only).

If we do not have an item that you need (any item -- journal article, DVD, dissertation, etc.):

Interlibrary Loan Services

If Cornell Library does not have an item you need, Use ILLiad (InterLibrary Loan Internet Accessible Database) to request that we borrow materials from other libraries. Loan period is usually one month. Items can arrive in as little as a few days to a couple of weeks (This service will not work for items that Cornell already owns, but are checked out by other borrowers).

 
 

Wordsworth

wordsworth, 1798

William Shuter. William Wordsworth, 1798. Oil portrait of Wordsworth at 28 years of age.

Collection: Wordsworth Collection, Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library

 

Search Tip

To search for literary criticism, use the words criticism and interpretation as subject terms in your guided keyword search.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait