Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 1190.103: Great Books? Exploring the Literary Tradition (Spring 2009)  Tags: course_guide english_literature literature linguistics_language_literature writing first_year_writing_seminars  

Course guide for English 1190, section 103.
guides.library.cornell.edu/greatbooks
Last update: Mar 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/greatbooks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Get the basics             Print Page
  
 

Useful Tips

Subject encyclopedias offer a very quick way to get yourself started on research topics. They are compiled by experts in the field.

To find subject encyclopedias in the library catalog do a guided keyword search for your topic. Enter one or two keyword terms in the first search row, then in the second, enter encyclop? dictionar? handbook? guide? and select any of these from the pull-down menu as additional keyword search terms.

*Question marks function as wildcard characters.

 
 

Subject Encyclopedias

Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature. edited by Marion Wynne-Davies. Bloomsbury, 1997. Rev. ed. Contains over 800 entries on writers from Chaucer and Shakespeare to Martin Amis and Caryl Churchill, over 1000 entries on individual works, over 300 Biblical and mythological characters and events, over 600 literary and critical terms and movements, and over 1000 entries describing historical, cultural and social events. [publisher]

Cambridge Guide to English Literature. Stapleton, Michael. New York: Cambridge UP, 1983. Uris Ref PR l9 C17+; Olin Ref PR l9 C17+ A single volume guide to the literature of the English-speaking world. Covering more than a thousand years, it includes the literature of Great Britain, the United States, Australia, Canada and New Zealand. It also includes the English writing from Ireland and South Africa and contributions from the West Indies and Nigeria since World War II. Entries are for authors, individual works of litera ture, main characters in novels and plays, relevant historical events and technical literary terms. Illustrated.

The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English. Head, Dominic, ed. New York: Cambridge UP, 2006. [1993 edition online; 2006 ed. in print at Olin Ref PR 85 C29 2006+Not to be confused with the Cambridge Guide listed above, this alphabetically-arranged compendium covers some of the same material, but expands its coverage to Africa, India, and other areas, and aims to include more material on contemporary literary figures. Illustrated.

Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature, edited by Robert T. Lambdin and Laura C. Lambdin. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1998. Olin Ref PN669 E53x 1998"A comprehensive guide to medieval literature. While the volume is devoted primarily to the literature of medieval England, its multicultural scope also encompasses Islamic, Mongolian, Celtic, Hispanic, Italian, Russian, and Germanic works. Longer entries treat major authors, entire genres, and important texts, while shorter entries provide valuable contextual information through their coverage of significant kings, religious leaders, artists, historical events, and other topics. Each of the more than 420 entries includes a brief bibliography, and the volume closes with a list of general works for further reading." (publisher)

Literary History of England. Baugh, Albert C., ed., 2nd ed. New York: Appleton, 1967. Uris Ref PR 83 B34 1967; Olin Ref PR 83 B34 1967 A comprehensive and scholarly history of the literature of England. Arranged by period and genre, with numerous footnotes indicating standard editions and an extensive bibliographical supplement listing, by chapter and page, the most important books and articles in which the reader may pursue further the writings of authors discussed.

Oxford Companion to English Literature. Margaret Drabble, ed. 6th ed. Oxford: Clarendon, 2000. Olin Ref PR l9 O94 2000. Available online and in print. Provides brief articles on authors and literary works from all periods of English literature are arranged alphabetically in this comprehensive single volume handbook.Contains extensive cross-references. Appendices include a chronology of English literature, and lists of poets laureate and major literary award winners.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature. David Scott Kastan, editor in chief. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2006. 5 vols. Olin Ref PR19 O95 2006. "Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantial essays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia of British Literature includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant." (publisher) Table of contents

Oxford English Dictionary The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology. It embraces not only the standard language of literature and conversation, but also the main technical vocabulary, and a large measure of dialectical usage and slang. This edition contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition, its three-volume Additions Series, and also draft material from the revision programme, which represents the latest progress towards the Third Edition. Second edition available in print at Olin and Uris Reference PE1625 M98 1989

Oxford Illustrated Literary Guide to Great Britain and Ireland. Dorothy Eagle and Hilary Carnell, comp. and ed. 2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford UP, 1992.Uris Ref PR lO9 E12 1992; Olin Ref PR lO9 E12 1992+ "The main part of the book consists of entries for places in Great Britain and Ireland with literary associations, each headword being followed by a grid reference to the maps at the end...the place names are arranged in alphabetical order and refer to towns, villages, mansions, cottages, mountains, lakes, and rivers: places where writers have been born, educated, and buried, where they lived and worked; and where they met and talked and struck sparks off each other." (Preface) Includes an author index and many illustrations and photographs. Fictitious names of real places are entered as cross-references.
 
 

Cornell Study Guides

English Literature

Research Guide for Medieval Studies

Other Subject Research Guides in the Humanities

 

Austen at Cornell

 

Cornell's 1st edition Sense & Sensibility

Sense and Sensibility: A Novel. By a Lady. London: Printed for the author, by C. Roworth, and published by T. Egerton, 1811.

Source: Cornell University Library

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait