Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

HIST 4000/4001 History Honors (Fall 2009)  Tags: honors research thesis history  

A guide to library research for the senior honors thesis
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/histhonors  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background             Print Page
  
 

Tips


Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • quick self-education
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography
 

Browsing

Reference collections are small enough to browse effectively.


Reference call numbers at Olin, Uris, Africana, Kroch, etc.:

History: D,E,F

Archives: CD

Biography: CT   

Bibliography: Z (particularly Z6000-7000)      

Foreign Language Dictionaries: P

Literature: P

Religion: B

Statistics: HA

 

General

Gale virtual reference library Excellent collection of full text encyclopedias.

Reference universe. Search the back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias in a wide variety of subject areas.

Oxford Reference Online Outstanding collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions.

Language Dictionaries

 

Statistics

Statistical Background Sources

International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-1993. 4th rev. ed. London: Macmillan Reference Ltd., 1998. (Olin Reference HA 1107 M5x 1998; older edition in Uris Reference HA 1107 M68 1981) 

International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, and Oceania 1750-1993. 3rd rev. ed. London: Macmillan Reference Ltd., 1998. (Olin Reference HA4675 .M552x 1998)

International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-1993. 4th ed. London: Macmillan Reference Ltd., 1998. (Olin Reference HA175 .M55x 1998)

Historical statistics of the United States. Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2006- Millennial ed. 

Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970. 2 vols. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1975. (Uris Reference and Olin Reference HA 202 A385+ 1976) Now online as pdfs: Volume 1 Volume 2 

Statistical Abstract of the United States. Washington: Bureau of the Census, 1878- . Print volumes available in Olin and Uris Libraries. Latest volume in Reference. Also available in most other libraries. (HA 202) (Also available online through the Library Gateway's Databases) The standard annual summary of statistics, designed to serve as a convenient volume for statistical reference and is a guide to other statistical publications and sources.

Cambridge Histories

 
 

Encyclopedias

Selected titles

 

Antiquity  (Olin & Uris Reference call numbers DE)

The Oxford classical dictionary. 3rd ed. Oxford New York : Oxford University Press, 1996. (Fine Arts Library Reference DE5 .Ox2 1996; Olin Library Reference DE5 .O98 1996+ and Olin Library Room 605) The classic.

Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome.  New York: Scribner's, 1988. (Olin and Uris Reference DE59 .C58 1988)

Civilizations of the Ancient Near East  New York: Scribner's, Macmillan Library Reference USA; London: Simon & Schuster Prentice Hall International, c1995.(Uris Reference DS57 .C55x 1995)

 

Middle Ages (Olin & Uris Reference call numbers D-DF)

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. 12 vols. New York: Scribners, 1982-1988. (Olin Reference D 114 D55+; also Uris) The classic.

The Crusades: an encyclopedia. (Olin Library Reference D155 .C78 2006+)  Four volumes.

 

Europe (Olin & Uris Reference call numbers D-DF)

Encyclopedia of European Social History: From 1350 To 2000. 6 vols. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001. (Olin and Uris Reference HN 373 .E63 2001)

Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History. 58 vols. Gulf Breeze: Academic International, 1976-1995. (Olin Reference DK14 M68)   The classic.

Germany: An Encyclopedia (Olin Reference DD126 .M43x 2001+)

Tudor England: An Encyclopedia (Olin Reference DA315 .T753x 2001)

 

Asia (Kroch Asia Reference)

Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan. 9 vols. Tokyo: Kodansha, 1983. Plus suppl. 1986. (Uris Reference and Kroch Asia Reference DS 805 K76+)

Encyclopedia of Asian history. New York, NY : Scribner, c1988. Four volumes. (Kroch Library Asia and Uris Library Reference +DS31 .E56)

 

Encyclopedias

United States (Olin & Uris Reference call numbers E-F)

 


The Oxford Companion to United States history. Oxford University Press, 2001. Also in print, (Uris Library
Reference and Olin Library Reference E174 .O94 2001 +)
.

Dictionary of American history. A classic ten volume encyclopedia. (in print--Olin Library Reference E174 .D52x 2003 +).

Encyclopedia of American foreign policy. Thomson/Gale, 2002. 2nd ed. Also in print, (Olin Library Reference E183.7 .E52x 2002 +).

Encyclopedia of American Religions. Detroit: Gale, 1987. (Olin Reference BL2530.058 M52+ 1987).

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History. 5 vols. New York: Macmillan Library Reference, 1996. (Uris and Africana Reference E 185 E54 1996).

Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History.  New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001. (Uris Library Reference E169.1 .E624x 2001)

Encyclopedia of American Social History. 3 vols. New York: Scribner's, 1992. (Uris Reference and Olin Reference HN 57 .E56 1992).

Encyclopedia of American Political History. 3 vols. New York: Scribner, 1984. (Uris and Olin Reference E 183 .E56).

American Revolution Reference Library. Detroit: Gale, 2000.

American Civil War Farmington Hills, Mich. : U.X.L., c2000. 

Encyclopedia of the Confederacy. 4 vols. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1993. Uris Library Reference E487 .E56

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century. 3 vols. New York: Scribner's, 2001. Uris Library Reference E169.1 .E626x 2001

Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: a Political, Social, and Military History. 5 vols. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2000. Uris Library Reference E468 .H47x 2000

Encyclopedia of Southern Culture. Chapel Hill: U of North Carolina P, 1989. (Uris and Olin Reference F 209 .E56 1989)

Women during the Civil War : an encyclopedia. New York : Routledge, 2004. (Uris Library Reference E628 .H37x 2004)
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War : a political, social, and military history Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2000.  Five volumes. (Uris Library Reference E468 .H47x 2000) 

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. 5 vols. Detroit, MI: St. James Press, c2000. (Uris Reference E 169.1 S764x 2000) Five volumes.

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century. 4 vols. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1996. (Uris Reference E740.7 .E56 1996).

The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America. Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 1998. 3 volumes. (Uris Reference E185.61 E544x 1998).

 

Biography

Biography

American National Biography [New York] : Oxford University Press, c2000. (in print, Olin Reference + CT213 .A68x 1999)

American biographical archive.London ; New York : K.G. Saur, [1986- 1995]. (microfiche CT213 .A51 1995 shelved in microforms alcove Olin Library Lower Level). This set reproduces entries from biographical sources. Includes Canadians. Indexed by American biographical index (Olin Library Reference + CT213 .A511 1998 ). 

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Detroit : Gale Research, Inc.

Dictionary of National Biography (online). 21 vols. plus suppl. London: Oxford UP, 2004. (also in print at Olin Reference and Uris Reference DA28.D4 O95 2004) The standard work for English biography.  

British biographical archive: a one-alphabet cumulation of 324 of the most important English-language biographical reference works originally published between 1601 and 1929. London: K. G. Saur, 1984. 1236 microfiches. (Olin lower level microtexts) Indexed by British biographical index (Olin Reference +CT773 .B86 1998).

Dictionnaire de biographie française. Paris: Letouzey et Ané, 1933-92. (In progress.) (Olin Reference +CT 143.D55) An important dictionary of national biography, unfortunately still incomplete (to date up to L). 

Archives biographiques françaises. London: Bowker-Saur, Ltd., 1988-90. 1065 microfiches. (Olin lower level microtexts) Indexed by Archives biographiques françaises (Olin Reference +CT1003 .I53x 1998). 

Allgemeine deutsche Biographie Leipzig: Duncker, 1875-1912. 56 volumes.(Olin stacks CT1053 .A43) The outstanding German biographical dictionary, containing long, signed articles, with bibliographies, on persons from early times to the end of the 19th century.


Deutsches biographisches Archiv: eine Kumulation aus 254 der wichtigsten biographischen Nachschlagswerke für den deutschen Beriech bis zum Ausgang des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts. Munich: K.G. Saur, 1982. 1447 microfiches. (Microfiche CT1053 .D48; Olin library lower level) Indexed by: Deutscher biographischer Index (Olin Library Reference +CT1053 .D48 1998).

 

 

Virginia Cole

Profile Image****

Help from a librarian (you might not get me) is only a click away:




Contact Info:
Virginia Cole
106 Olin Library
607-255-5359
Send Email

Subjects:
medieval studies, history, digital reference, citation management

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait