Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 1127.104: Writing About Shakespeare  Tags: shakespeare english_literature theater  

Library Guide for English 1127, Section 4 (Prof. Kalas)
Last update: Mar 06th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/english1127rk  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles            Print Page
  
 

Finding Periodical Articles

PERIODICAL INDEXES

  • Historical Abstracts.
    This historical periodical database includes annotated references to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. andCanada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Covers over 2000 journals, including historical journals from almost every country and selections of journals in the social sciences and humanities for researchers and students of history.

 

  • Humanities International Index
    A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
  •  

  • International Index to the Performing Arts: IIPA Full Text.
  • IIPA Full Text covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry--including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more. Each full text in the file contains an abstract.

     

  • JSTOR.
  • JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature.

     

  • MLA International Bibliography
  • An international database providing references to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics. It is useful for finding literary criticism of a particular author or work, as well as articles on literary theory, women's studies, popular culture, and performing arts.

     

  • Research Library (ProQuest) 
  • Indexes and abstracts over 1600 general interest magazines and scholarly journals including all the magazines in Reader's Guide and most of the scholarly journals from Social Sciences Index, Humanities Index, General Science Index. It also includes citations and abstracts to selected television and radio programs. The Library subscribes to most of the periodicals indexed. Holdings can be found easily since the titles are linked to the online catalog.

 

These Shakespeare SUBJECT BIBLIOGRAPHIES can also be useful:

  • World Shakespeare Bibliography. Published for the Folger Shakespeare Library by The Johns Hopkins University Press, [1999?]- Electronic coverage: 1968-2008. When complete, Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced since 1900.

  • Champion, Larry S. The Essential Shakespeare : an Annotated Bibliography of Major Modern Studies. New York : G.K. Hall c1993. (Uris Ref PR 2894 .C45 1993; also Olin stacks) Lists more than 1,800 predominantly English-language studies in an attempt to identify "the most significant items of Shakespeare scholarship from 1900 to 1991." (Pref.) An earlier edition was published in 1986.

     

 

Subject Guide

Fred Muratori
Contact Info:
106 Olin Library
Cornell University
(607) 255-6662
Send Email

Subjects:
English-language literature, theater, film

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait