Tips
Encyclopedias are great for:
- choosing a topic
- quick self-education
- perspective on a topic
- variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
- bibliography
LRC
Literature Resource Center An encylopedia of world literature. Also includes many scholarly articles full text.
General
Gale virtual reference library Excellent collection of full text encyclopedias.
Reference universe. Search the back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias in a wide variety of subject areas.
Oxford Reference Online Outstanding collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Greco-Roman Mythology. 1998. (Uris Reference BL 715 D56x 1998)
Early Greek Myth: A guide to Literary and Artistic Sources. 1993. (Olin Reference BL782.G21)
Encyclopedia of Ancient Dieties. 2000. (Olin Reference BL473 .C68 2000 +)
The Encyclopedia of Religion. 1987. (Uris Reference BL 31 E55+; also Olin Reference )
The Dictionary of Classical Mythology. 1986. (Uris Reference BL 715 .G86 1986)
Gods and heroes : a quick guide to the occupations, associations and experiences of the Greek and Roman gods and heroes. 1977. (Olin Reference BL715 .H29)
Funk and Wagnall's Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology, and Legend. 1972. (Uris Reference GR 35 F98 1984, also Olin Reference)
Encyclopedia of Creation Myths. 1994
New Larousse Encyclopedia of Mythology. 1968. (Uris Reference BL 310 G96+ 1974)
Encyclopedias
Ancient Greece
Ancient Writers Greece and Rome. 1982 (Olin Reference PA 3002.A54)
The Oxford Classical Dictionary. 1996. (Uris Library Reference DE5 .Ox2 1996; Olin Library Reference DE5 .O98 1996+ and Olin Library Room 605) Excellent source. Covers biography, literature, mythology, philosophy, religion, science, geography of the classical world with bibliography.
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization. 1998. (Olin Reference DE5.O92x 1998+). A shortened version of The Oxford Classical Dictionary.
Brill's New Pauly. Encyclopaedia of the ancient world. (Olin Library room 604-5 DE5 .N48 2002 +)
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Civilizations. 1980. (Olin Reference CB 311 E565+)
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome. 1988. (Uris Reference DE 59 C58 1988; also Olin Reference )
Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition. 2000. (Olin Reference DF757.E53x 2000)
Encyclopedia of the Ancient World. 2002. (Uris Reference CB311 .E54x 2002)
Grove Art Online Articles, and over 1,500 thumbnail art images.
Virginia Cole |
****Help from a librarian (you might not get me) is only a click away:
Virginia Cole
106 Olin Library
607-255-5359
Send Email
Subjects:
medieval studies, history, digital reference, citation management
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait