Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Cascadilla School Library Day 

Introduction to doing research at Cornell for students of the Cascadilla School
guides.library.cornell.edu/cascadilla
Last update: Oct 13th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/cascadilla  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Images             Print Page
  
 

Quick Searches

Cornell offers a Quick Search, which allows you to search several collections at the same time. To get there from the library's home page, select Find It! Images by clicking on the word Images in the navigation bar at the top of the screen.
The default image search looks in the following 5 databases:
 
 

Searching Licensed Image Resources at Cornell

Google Images is a quick and easy way to find lots of images from web pages across the globe. But it only searches free content, and it does not search many databases. When you look at the search results, do you know which image will meet your needs? Will any of the images be high enough in resolution? Are they described accurately? Fortunately, Cornell has built or subscribes to a number of image databases that give Cornell community members access to millions of images, most with high resolution and rich descriptions.

 

Searches

There are three basic types of image searches:

  • Quick searches
  • Single collection searches
  • Multiple collection searches


Start by disabling any pop-up blockers that your browser or browser toolbars may have activated. For help in disabling pop-up blockers, see:

http://www.artstor.org/webhelp/ARTstor_Help.htm

http://images.library.cornell.edu/help.html#luna

If you’re using a PC with Internet Explorer, you can hold down the control key while you click to launch a collection, which will override the pop-up blocker.

 
 

Multiple Collections

Multiple Collection Searches

You can also search multiple collections at the same time. Click on the Images search from the library home page. You can search all collections at once or select only a few. Search results often include thumbnail images. If a collection doesn’t give thumbnail images to browse, you can click on the View button to see individual images.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait