Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

THETR 1240.101: Virtual Bodies, Living Machines: The Role of Technology in Live Performance (Spring 2009)  Tags: theatre theater german_literature film culture linguistics_language_literature  

A guide to information resources and research strategies in theatre studies.
Last update: Apr 15th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/THETR1240  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles/Databases             Print Page
  
 

Research Tips

See Search Tips: Articles for more information.

Look for Get it Cornell links to retrieve full text articles online.

All databases and journals can also be found in the Library Catalog.

 
 

Recommended general subject database to start your search for articles

 Research Library (ProQuest). Ann Arbor: Bell & Howell, 1986- .

 

ProQuest

 

Research Library indexes and abstracts an extensive number of general interest magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Full text of many articles is provided.

Click on the Databases Selected link to select and search other ProQuest databases, including a selection of Historical Databases:

  • APS Online (American Periodicals Series) 1740-1900
  • ProQuest Historial Newspapers
    • New York Times 1851-2005
    • Wall Street Journal 1889-1991
    • Washington Post 1877-1992

 Also try the multidisciplinary Academic Source Premier database.

 

Articles and Databases

Browse or Search for articles, databases or images on your topic.

Article Search Options:

  • Use the Articles search from the Library Homepage to do simple searches from selected databases.
  • Use the Advanced search to find articles in one or more databases in a particular subject area.


Database Search Options:

 

Literature Databases

Literature Online (LION). Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey, Inc., c1999-.

LION

A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources. Includes articles, monographs, and dissertations from the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; full-text articles from literary journals (with links to JSTOR journals); and biographical information on widely studied authors.

 

Literature Resource Center. [Farmington Hills, MI] : Gale Group, c1999.LRC

A complete literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.

 

More Literature Databases and E-Journal Collections

Specialized Subject Databases 

MLA International Bibliography. New York: Modern Language Association, 1963- .

An international index and database providing   references to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics.

Humanities International Complete . Ipswich, MA: EBSCO, 199?- .

Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.

 


e-Journal Collections

 

JSTOR New York, NY: JSTOR, c1996-.

JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business and other fields.

Project Muse Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, c1995- .

Project Muse provides access to the full text of journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Search or browse the 26,000+ e-Journals licensed by the Cornell University Library.

 

 

Theater and Drama Databases

International Index to the Performing Arts IIPA Full Text.

IPA Full Text covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry--including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more. All the articles have abstracts and about a quarter have the full text of the article. The best online resource for a broad range of publications in the performing arts.

Global Performing Arts Database. Ithaca, NY: Global Performing Arts Consortium, Cornell University, 2003- .

 

Global Performing Arts Database records include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators.

Art Databases

  • Art full text  
    Indexes, abstracts and full-text from international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Areas covered include archaeology, architecture, art, film, humanities, marketing, motion pictures and photography.
  • Art retrospective  
    Art Index Retrospective...provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism from 420 noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984.
  • ARTstor  
    Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data. Covers the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well asmany other forms of visual culture.
  • Scholars Resource  
    Scholars Resource is an extensive resource of high quality images that provides comprehensive coverage of works of art essential for teaching.

Google Scholar - Get it Cornell

Look for Get it Cornell links in your Google Scholar search results. These links connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.


(search results open in a new window)
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait