Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 1134: Memoir & Memory  Tags: literature memoir autobiography english_1134  

Library Research Guide for English 1134, Section 105
Last update: Sep 29th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/english1134jc  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Background Material             Print Page
  
 

Find Background Material

Quick Reference Subject Encyclopedias

Biographical Information
& Critical Analysis
(online)

 

Quick Reference

 

Credo Reference
A searchable collection containing 100 reference sources including subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical sources and quotations. Contains over 150,000 entries of facts, words, concepts, and people.

 

A Glossary of Cultural Theory. Peter Brooker. London : Arnold ; New York : Co-published in the U.S.A. by Oxford University Press, 2002. 2nd ed. Olin Library Reference HM621 .B76x 2002

 

Abrams, M.H. A Glossary of Literary Terms. 9th ed. Boston: Wadsworth Cengage, 2009.Olin Ref PN41 A184 2009
"For clarity, concision and elegance Abrams has few peers and no superiors; plain spoken but not simplistic, his essays on critical methods are the best short treatments in the business." (Choice)

 

Oxford English Dictionary.
The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology. It embraces not only the standard language of literature and conversation, but also the main technical vocabulary, and a large measure of dialectical usage and slang. This edition contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition, its three-volume Additions Series, and also draft material from the revision programme, which represents the latest progress towards the Third Edition. Second edition available in print at Olin and Uris Reference PE1625 M98 1989

 

 

Return to top


Subject Encyclopedias

 

African American Writers. Valerie Smith, editor in chief. New York: Scribners, 2001. 2 vols..Olin Reference PS 153 N5 A23 (also in Africana Reference)
More than 50 signed articles provide biographical and critical overviews of African American writers, including Jamaica Kincaid. A selected bibliography accompanies each article.

 

American Diaries : an annotated bibliography of published American diaries and journals to 1980. / [edited by] Laura Arksey, Nancy Pries, and Marcia Reed. Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research, c1983-1987. 2 vols. Olin Library Reference Z1231 D52 A72+

 

Holocaust Literature: an Encyclopedia of Writers and their Work. S. Lillian Kremer, editor. New York: Routledge, 2003. 2 v. Olin Library Reference PN56 H55 H66x 2003+
Covers authors who made the Holocaust the primary focus of their writings. Each entry describes the author's work, placing it within the context of Holocaust literature, and contains a bibliography of primary and secondary sources related to the author's work. An entry on Art Spiegelman is included in volume 2.

 

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism. Edited by Michael Groden and Martin Kreiswirth, and Imre Szeman. Baltimore, Md.: Johns Hopkins University Press, c1997 -. 
A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography. Paper edition (2005) in Olin Reference: Olin Ref PN81 J554 2005 +.

Return to top.


Biographical Information & Critical Analysis

Literature Resource Center (LRC). Farmington Hills, MI : Gale Group, c1999- .

A complete literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).

Lion Literature Online. Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healey, 1996- .

Includes critical and biographical references on English and American authors. Search tip: To find biographical entries as well as critical analysis, choose author from the left-hand tool bar. Enter the author's last name, first name, e.g.Kincaid, Jamaica.

Return to top



 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait