Helpful sites
- Frankenstein: Penetrating the Secrets of Nature
Exhibition put together by the National Library of Medicine (National Institutes of Health) - The Fantastic in Art & Fiction
Division of Rare & Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library. Online database of images. - Frankenstein: The Pennsylvania Electronic Edition
In addition to digitized text from the 1818 and 1831 editions, includes a great deal of contextual material, including biographies, a chronology, maps, and early reviews. This is an old, but excellent web site! - Frankenstein: Mary Shelley's Dream
An exhibition put together by the Bakken Library & Museum of Electricity in Life. Includes a recreation of Victor Frankenstein's laboratory, Shelley's genealogy, and a multimedia slide show. - The Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley Chronology & Resource Site

"The main purpose of this site is to provide information on Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, especially material that might not be readily available or accessible in every library..." - My Hideous Progeny: Mary Shelley's Frankenstein
Web site created as part of an MA thesis on the functionality of literary web sites. Last updated in September 2007.
Other Helpful Books
Books from Cornell's Circulating Collections that should be helpful:
Frankenstein Film Sourcebook - Caroline Joan "Kay" S. Picart, Frank Smoot, and Jayne Blodgett
Call Number: PN1995.9.F8 P53x 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0313313504
"Comprehensive in its scope, The Frankenstein Film Sourcebook provides an alphabetical guide to two hundred films that incorporate the Frankenstein narrative. It also delves into both primary and secondary perspectives and includes discussions of aspects of the films, such as their depiction of women, which is relevant to current scholarly critiques." (Publisher's description)
Literature and science : social impact and interaction - John H. Cartwright and Brian Baker
Call Number: PN55 .C39 2005 +
ISBN/ISSN: 185109458X
"A survey of the interaction between science and Anglo-American literature from the late medieval period to the 20th century, examining how authors, thinkers, and philosophers have viewed science in literary texts, and used science as a window to the future." (Publisher's description)
Robotics : a reference guide to the new technology - Joseph A. Angelo, Jr.
Call Number: TJ211 .A5475 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 1573563374
"Although advanced technologies are the cornerstone of modern life, few people understand how such technologies as robotics or nuclear science actually work. Fewer still realize how--and how dramatically--technology influences our society and culture. Robotics is a reference guide that provides nonspecialists with the most up-to-date information on seminal developments in the technology of robotics, as well as covering the social, political, and technical impacts of those developments on everyday life, both now and in the future." (Publisher's description)
A companion to the Gothic - edited by David Punter
Call Number: PR830.T3 C65x 2000 +
ISBN/ISSN: 0631206205
See especially, pt. 2: The 'Original' Gothic; essay on Mary Shelley, Author of Frankenstein (Nora Crook).
Suggest other helpful resources
Use this space to suggest other helpful web sites or resources. If you want to link to a record in the Cornell online catalog, just copy the URL given at the bottom of the catalog record (just after "Shortcut link for this item is...") and paste it into the link URL field of this link submission box.
Frankenstein at Cornell
The 2002 New Student Reading Project for Cornell University was Frankenstein.

Description
Loading content... please wait


Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait