Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

English 1185.111: Literature and the Laboratory  Tags: english_literature course_guide first_year_writing_seminars writing linguistics_language_literature  

Library resources for students in English 1185.111

guides.library.cornell.edu/lablit

Last update: Feb 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/lablit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases             Print Page
  
 

Useful Tips

Some—but not all—databases provide full-text articles.

If the database does not provide full-text, but does give you a citation, take down the full article ciation. Then, go back to the library catalog and search for the title of the journal the article appears in. The catalog will indicate which issues of the journal Cornell holds in both print and electronic forms. The full text of the article may be available through a different database.

For more precise searching, search databases individually.

 

Finding Articles in Databases

 

1. Search a Specific Database

Go to the Recommended Databases tab, above, and search within a specific databases for articles on your subject.

2. Search a number of databases at the same time using Find it!

The Find it! feature on the Library Gateway allows you to perform a simple search across multiple databases. For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually.

Using Find it!, you can do a simple search in 4 general resources or you can select from a list of subject-specific databases to search.

 
 

Reading Citations

This segment covers how to read citations of books, book articles, and journal articles.


Loading Video Clip...
 

Article Databases & Indexes

Periodical indexes (databases) identify and locate the articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Some databases provide the complete article online (the full-text). When full-text articles are not provided, click on the Get it! Cornell link to determine if the library owns the periodical you need, or search the Library Catalog directly for the book or journal title.


General Periodical Indexes

Academic Search Premier.Provides indexing, abstracts (summaries) and some full-text covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Proquest Research Library. Available as part of the ProQuest Direct system, Periodical Abstracts indexes and abstracts over 1500 periodicals, covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The ProQuest Direct Web interface provides the full-text, in several formats, of many articles contained in the database.


Specialized Indexes

Humanities International Index: A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

MLA International Bibliography: An index to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics. Search tip: Enter the author's name on one line and a word from the title on the next line. Set language or document-type limits, if desired. Note: MLA also provides links to full-text articles in JSTOR & Project Muse.

Web of Science, Science Citation Index Expanded: Provides access to the Science citation index expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), Social sciences citation index (SSCI), and Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). These ISI citation databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work.

LION (Literature Online): A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 228 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Literature Resource Center: Combines biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information to deliver an introduction to authors and their works.

Oxford English Dictionary: (Olin and Uris Reference PE1625 .M98 1989 and online). The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology.


Full-text Collections

JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive.A full-text collection containing the back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals.

Project MUSE: A full-text collection of recently published articles in the social sciences and humanities.


 
 

Cornell University Library

 


 
Description

  Loading content... please wait