Olin Reference Collection
Encyclopedias are great for:
- choosing a topic
- educating yourself quickly
- perspective on a topic
- variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
- bibliography
Top Reference Databases
Go beyond Wikipedia! Use these reference databases to find authoritative background articles.
- Literature Resource Center
A complete literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). - Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Reference Universe
An index of over 10,000 specialized encyclopedias, compendia and handbooks. Great tool to find print resources. - Cambridge Histories Online
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Camgbridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Recommended Subject Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa (Online) - Philip Mattar, editor in chief
Call Number: Olin Library Reference DS43 .E53 2004 +
ISBN/ISSN: 0028657691
"Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations’ involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy, and government."
Encyclopedia of African History - Kevin Shillington, editor
Call Number: Olin Reference DT20 .E53 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 1579582451
Historical Dictionary of the Sudan
Call Number: Olin Library DT155.3 .V64x 2002
ISBN/ISSN: 0810841002
Encyclopedia of Africa south of the Sahara - John Middleton, editor in chief
Call Number: Olin Reference / Africana Reference DT351 .E53x 1997
ISBN/ISSN: 0684804662
Encyclopedia of Travel Literature
Call Number: Uris Reference G465 .B765x 2000
ISBN/ISSN: 0874369401
Literature of Travel and Exploration: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Olin Reference G465 .L565 2003 +
ISBN/ISSN: 1579582478
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait