Useful Tips
Subject encyclopedias offer a very quick way to get yourself started on research topics. They are compiled by experts in the field.
To find subject encyclopedias in the library catalog do a guided keyword search for your topic. Enter one or two keyword terms in the first search row, then in the second, enter encyclop? dictionar? handbook? guide? and select any of these from the pull-down menu as additional keyword search terms.
*Question marks function as wildcard characters.
Fun Home

Alison Bechdel. Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic (Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2006)
Source: Publisher Web site.
Subject Encyclopedias
Rothschild, D. Aviva. Graphic Novels: A Bibliographic Guide to Book-length Comics. Englewood, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1995. Electronic Resource (use link; also available in a circulating print copy in the
Olin stacks: Z5956.C6 R68x 1995)
Cayton, Mary Kupiec,and Peter W. Williams, eds. Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History. New York: Scribner's, 2001. 3 vols.
Uris Ref E 169.1 E624x 2001
Cuddon, John A. Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory.
Oxford: Blackwell Reference, 1991.
Olin Ref PN44.5 C96 1991
Goulart, Ron, ed. The Encyclopedia of American Comics. New York : Facts on File, c1990.
Olin Ref PN6725 E56
Horn, Mauried, ed. The World Encyclopedia of Comics Philadelphia : Chelsea House, 1999. 7 v.
(circulating print copy of each of the 7 volumes in Olin Library Stacks - 3rd floor;
Oversize PN6710 W92 1999 ++)
Jolly, Margaretta, ed. Encyclopedia of Life Writing: Autobiographical and Biographical Forms. 2 vols. London : Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001.
Olin Ref CT 21.E53 2001
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Detroit: Gale, 1978- .
Uris Ref PN 771 T97
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism. Edited by Michael Groden and Martin Kreiswirth, and Imre Szeman. Baltimore, Md.: Johns Hopkins University Press, c1997 -.
On Order:
Fingeroth, Danny. The Rough Guide to Graphic Novels. London ; New York : Penguin, 2008
Olin Reference call number posted here as soon as ready
Full-text Reference Books
Use these reference databases to find and access articles in a variety of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides the full text of many encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and directories.
Credo Reference
A searchable collection containing 100 reference sources including subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical sources and quotations. Contains over 150,000 entries of facts, words, concepts, and people.
Oxford Reference Premium
Searchable database of 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. Each topical division contains searchable versions of the latest editions of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Includes English and bilingual dictionaries, dictionaries of quotations, etymology and euphemisms, and the World Encyclopedia. Covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait