Company News
Impress recruiters by knowing specific details about recent events affecting the company and the industry. Perhaps they recently hired new top executives or they were affected by industry or market changes.
- Factiva
Search thousands of journals, newspapers, and business wires from around the world. - Bloomberg
Create company reports and track up to the minute company and industry news. - Business Source Complete
Find full-text articles from trade journals and business magazines as well as company profiles (Including SWOT analysis) and industry reports. - LexisNexis
Search thousands of journals, newspapers, and business wires from around the world. - ProQuest
Find full-text articles from trade journals, newspapers, and business magazines.
Vault Insider Guides
The Management Library provides MBAs with access to Vault reports. These reports give insider information about what it's really like to work in companies and industries. Learn the "lingo", see starting salary information, and learn what a typical day is like at work.
- Access Vault.
- Click on the Connect to Full Text link.
- Choose the link for "Download Guides."
From here you can access the Vault Career Guide to Investment Banking, Vault Guide to the Top 50 Banking Employers, Vault Guide to Finance Interviews, as well as employer profiles for finance related firms.
Finding a company profile
You can find company profiles from databases like Hoovers and Capital IQ. You may also be able to find profiles via Business Source Complete.
Finding a company profile in Hoovers:
- Access Hoovers Online.
- Enter the company name in the search box and click the Search button.
- You may need to then select your company from a list of results. You can sort results by name, location, or sales.
Finding a company profile in Capital IQ:
- Log into your Capital IQ account.
- Enter the company name in the search box in the upper left and hit enter.
- Select the company from the resulting list and click the Go button.
Finding a company profile in Business Source Complete:
- Access Business Source Complete.
- Click the Company Profiles link in the blue menubar at the top of the screen.
- Enter the company name in the search box and click the Browse button.
- Click the PDF link for the Datamonitor Report to access the profile.
Finding a company profile in CareerBeam:
- Access CareerBeam.
- Click the Organization link in the top Databases menu.
- Enter the company name in the search box and click the Go button.
Additional Sources
Finance Publications
Finance professionals need to be kept up-to-date on industries, companies, and global trends. This will require staying informed and networking. Some finance journals to be aware of include:
The Wall Street Journal is one of the best known business publications. With more than 750 journalists world wide, WSJ will help you keep your finger on the pusle of business.
Investment Dealers' Digest is a weekly publication that provides insight on what's happening on Wall Street and in the capital markets.
Institutional Investor provides a host of proprietary research and rankings as well as incisive business articles for a global audience. Please note that the library's subscription has a 28 day embargo.
The Deal is focused on dealmaking of all kinds. The Management Library's copy of this popular publication can be found on the first floor in oversized publications.
Other Sources of Information
Have you talked to:
| – | Current classmates who worked on Wall Street before coming to Johnson? |
| – | Second-year MBAs who have returned from an internship in the industry? |
| – | Johnson Alumni in the field? |
| – | People in your personal network? |
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait