Bell, Maureen, et al. A Biographical Dictionary of English Women
Writers, 1580-1720.
Boston: G.K. Hall, 1990. Olin Ref PR 113 B43
Alphabetically arranged by name, this volume provides short
biographical entries, as well as lists
of anonymous and pseudonymous texts, false ascriptions, and several
critical appendices on such topics as
Quaker women writers and women in the book trade.
Blain, Virginia et al. The Feminist Companion to Literature in
English. Women Writers from
the Middle Ages to the Present. New Haven: Yale University Press,
1990. Olin Ref PR 111 F32
A 1200-page compendium of biographical sketches for more than 2700
women writing in English,
including those from African, Asian, Caribbean, Canadian and other literary
traditions. Includes some
topical entries as well. Some list sources for further reading.
An ongoing set of volumes designed to provide biographic,
bibliographic and critical material on major writers of America and Great
Britain as well as some writers of Canada, France and Germany.
Each volume is arranged alphabetically by the writers covered. There
are numerous portraits and often there
are appendices containing special information. A list of further reading
concludes each volume. An index to all volumes
appears at the end of each latest volume. Individual author essays are available online through the Literature Resource Center, minus illustrations, photographs, and other visual material that appears in the printed volumes.
Irish Women Writers : an A-to-Z Guide, edited by Alexander G. Gonzalez. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2006. Olin Ref PR8733 I75 2006+
"Through roughly 75 alphabetically arranged entries written by more than 35 expert contributors, this reference overviews the lives and works of Irish women writers active in a range of genres and periods. Each entry includes a brief biography, a discussion of major works and themes, a survey of the writer's critical reception, and a list of works by and about the author. The volume closes with a selected, general bibliography." [publisher]
Kunitz, Stanley and Howard Haycroft, eds. British Authors Before
1800. New York:
Wilson, 1952. Uris Ref PR 105 K96; Olin Ref PR 105 K96+
One in a series of biographical dictionaries edited by Stanley
Kunitz and Howard Haycroft.
The arrangement is alphabetical by author and entries run from a
paragraph to several pages in length. Many of the entries are illustrated
and
nearly all end with a bibliography of works by and about the author.
Kunitz, Stanley, ed. British Authors of the Nineteenth Century.
New York: Wilson,
1936. Uris Ref PR 451 K96; Olin Ref PR 451 K96+
A single volume biographical dictionary providing brief accounts
of the lives of the major and
minor British authors of the nineteenth century. Arranged alphabetically
by author, most entries include a bibliography of works by and about the
author.
"The Literature Resource Center (LRC) is a complete literature reference
database designed for the undergraduate student. LRC combines
biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information to deliver a
complete reference/resource package on authors and their works (fiction,
nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Centering on
respected Gale sources, including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of
Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism, this data set
is augmented with full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical
material illuminating an oeuvre or era.
Modern British Women Writers: an A-to-Z Guide, edited by Vicki K. Janik and Del Ivan Janik. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002. Olin and Uris Ref PR116 M63 2002
Alphabetically arranged entries on 58 British women writers of the 20th century discuss each writer's life, works, and critical reception. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and contains an overview of the writer's background, an Analysis of her major works, and an assessment of the critical response to her writings. The entries close with primary and secondary bibliographies, and the volume concludes with a selected, general bibliography. (publisher's description)
50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000. Confined to people who died before 31 December 2000.
Schlueter, Paul and June Schlueter, eds. An Encyclopedia of
British Women Writers.
New York: Garland, 1988. Uris Ref PR lll S3+
Contains nearly 400 biographical entries for British women writers from
the eighteenth century to
the present. Each entry includes a list of the author's primary works
and a bibliography of critical sources. Entries are signed and a list of
contributors is provided. The detailed index is cross referenced for
pseudonyms or variant names used by an author.
Scott-Kilvert, Ian, gen. ed. British Writers. 8 vols. New York:
Scribner's, 1979-1984. Uris Ref PR 85 B86+
An eight volume set of literary biographies, originally published as
individual studies in a British Council series called Writers and their Work.
Arrangement is chronological, starting in Vol. l with the 14th century
(William Langland: Piers Plowman) and ending in Vol. VII with Louis MacNeice
and an essay on the poets of World War II. Volume VIII serves as an index for
the complete set. Each essay contains both critical and biographical
material and ends with a bibliography of works by and about the author.
Vinson, James, ed. Great Writers of the English Language.
3 vols.
New York: St. Martin's, 1979. (Vol. 1 Poets, Vol. 2 Novelists, Vol. 3
Dramatists) Uris Ref PR 106
G7
Extensive coverage of writers (poets, novelists and dramatists) from Great
Britain, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, the United States and other English
speaking areas of the world. Entries include a short biography giving very
basic information, a list of publications by and about the writers and a short
critical essay discussing one or more of that writer's best known works.