Annual Surveys of ResearchBibliographiesBiographical SourcesChronologiesExplication SourcesLiterary Terms and ConceptsSpecialized Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 3700: The 19th Century British Novel  Tags: literature english_literature victorian linguistics_language_literature  

Library Research Guide
Last update: Feb 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/english3700df  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Primary Sources             Print Page
  
 

Primary Texts

PRIMARY SOURCE DATABASES FOR ENGLISH

The Library provides networked access to many more full-text, primary source databases than can be listed here. Others may be located through the Library Catalog and Find iT! Databases, which contains an alphabetical list of online resources related to Linguistics, Language and Literature.

 

Literature Online. (LION)
A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources. Primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present; American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present; English drama; English prose; articles, monographs and dissertations from the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; full-text articles from literary journals; and biographical information on widely studied authors. Subsumed in the database are the contents of several Chadwyck-Healey CD-ROM products, including: The Bible in English; Database of African-American Poetry, 1760-1900; Database of Twentieth Century African American Poetry; Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare; and English Poetry.

 

Eighteenth Century Collections Online. (ECCO)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. When completed, the full collection will include nearly 150,000 titles and more than 33,000,000 pages of searchable material.
19th Century Masterfile: a paratext resource
19th century masterfile/Poole's is a reference service for scholars, bibliographers, and students of the Nineteenth Century. It is a scholarly tool for mining the riches of this extraordinary period. Access is by annual subscription. It is a great deal more than an enhanced Web edition of William Frederick Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. It is a continually expanding resource for the study of Nineteenth-Century cultural and intellectual life.

APS Online (American Periodicals Series)
APS Online spans over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of content, from the first American magazines, published in 1741, to the World War II period-200 years of American history as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Victorian women writers project
"The goal of the Victorian Women Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century, encoded using the Standard Generalized Markup Language (SGML. The works...include anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama." Contains full text of Braddon's Lady Audley's Secret. - website

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait