Annual Surveys of ResearchBibliographiesBiographical SourcesChronologiesExplication SourcesLiterary Terms and ConceptsSpecialized Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 3700: The 19th Century British Novel  Tags: literature english_literature victorian linguistics_language_literature  

Library Research Guide
Last update: Feb 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/english3700df  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Periodical Indexes & Databases             Print Page
  
 

Periodical Indexes and Databases

PERIODICAL INDEXES AND DATABASES

Given the multidisciplinary perspectives from which literature can be approached, the following list represents only those resources centered for the most part on literary study. Others, such as Philosophers Index, Historical Abstracts, Women's Studies International or PsycINFO may be just as relevant depending on the specific subject. Searching the Library Catalog and Find It! Databases will indentify or provide access to far more of these resources than can be listed here.

 

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. 1920- (ABELL)
ABELL contains over 814,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. All aspects and periods of English literature are covered, from Anglo-Saxon times to the present day. British, American and Commonwealth writing are all represented. Coverage is international, including material in languages other than English.

 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)
ISI citation databases -- under the collective name Web of Science -- are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic. search by footnoted source (1975 - date)

 

Humanities International Index
A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

JSTOR
A full-text collection containing the back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals.

 

MLA Bibliography. New York: Modern Language Assn., 1926 -.
A bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics worldwide, gathered from nearly 7,000 sources worldwide, including journal articles, books, and articles in books. Does not index book reviews.

 

19th Century Masterfile: a paratext resource
19th century masterfile/Poole's is a reference service for scholars, bibliographers, and students of the Nineteenth Century. It is a scholarly tool for mining the riches of this extraordinary period. Access is by annual subscription. It is a great deal more than an enhanced Web edition of William Frederick Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. It is a continually expanding resource for the study of Nineteenth-Century cultural and intellectual life.

 

Periodicals Index Online(formerly, PCI)
Electronic index to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages. Coverage currently extends from 1665 through 1995.

 

Royal Historical Society bibliography (Online) Oxford University Press.
Database contains 300,000 records on British and Irish history, including relations with the empire and Commonwealth. Bibliography includes books, articles in journals and collective volumes, and review articles, incorporating the content of the print annual bibliographies for 1993-2000; with updates to follow. The on-line edition also includes some earlier publications, with near-comprehensive coverage of works published since 1900 and select earlier works.

 

Wellesley Index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900. [London] Routledge & K. Paul [c1966-1989] 5 vols. Olin Library Reference Z Z6944 V6 W45+
Continued online by The Curran Index: additions to and corrections of the Wellesley Index to Victorian periodicals, an index to emendations of the Wellesley Index that have appeared in print between 1989 and 2003, and a continuation of those additions and corrections. Also included are attributions and other information concerning periodicals that were not originally covered by the Wellesley Index.

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait