Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 1185 Writing About Lit (Weiger)  Tags: first_year_writing_seminars literature natural_history  

A research guide to information resources and library services for a Fall 2008 First-Year Writing Seminar.
Last update: Jan 15th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/vegetablelove  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Useful Tips

Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters and monographs.

Tip 1: Some of the databases provide full-text coverage of journals.

Tip 2: If the database does not provide full-text, use Get it! Cornell or search the library catalog for the journal title (or book title). This will provide you with Cornell's holdings of the journal (in both print and electronic form).

Tip 3: For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually (rather than using Find It!).

 

Quick Quiz

What is the difference between a scholary and non-scholarly periodical?

Scholarly journals are only published quarterly.
The library only subscribes to scholarly publications.
Scholarly journals are everything except People and Us -- everyone knows that stuff is garbage!
Scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.
There is no real difference.

 

Quick Quiz

Your prefessor emails you and asks you to deliver the following article to her.  Where do you start?

Holifield, Mitch.  "When the Legends Die: A Point Beyond Culture."  Education 120.1 (1999): 93-99.

Search for the author of the article in the library catalog.
Search for "When the Legends Die" in the library catalog.
Search for "Education" in the library catalog.
Search for the article in Google Scholar?
Give up; you will never find it!

 
 

Recommended Databases

MLA Bibliography
The largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship in the modern languages, linguistics, literature, folklore, and drama, including film, opera, radio, television and theater. Literary criticism and literary theory are covered extensively.

Literature Online (LION)
A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources.

Literature Resource Center
A complete literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).

Proquest Research Library
Multidisciplinary database -great starting point for research on all topics.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary database -great starting point for research on all topics.

JSTOR
Full-text of scholarly journals, excluding those from the last 2-5 years.

Project Muse
Contains full text of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)
IIPA Full Text covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry--including film, television, drama, and more.

International Film Archive Database (FIAF)
Includes
International index to film periodicals and International index to television periodicals, 1972- present.

 

How to Identify Scholarly Journal Articles

Evaluating the sources you find is a crucial step in the process of scholarly research. The questions you ask about books, periodical articles, or multimedia sources are similar whether you're looking at a citation to the item or have the item in hand.

Watch this video to learn how to identify scholarly journal articles.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDGJ2CYfY9A


Loading Video Clip...
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait