Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 1158.102: The Power of the Page (Spring 2009)  Tags: american_literature english_1158 print_culture literature linguistics_language_literature  

Library Research Guide
Last update: Feb 27th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/english1158js  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Primary Sources            Print Page
  
 

Primary Sources

Early American Imprints, 1639-1800
Online version of the microfiche set Early American imprints, 1639-1800, based on the renowned American bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American bibliography. Serves as the foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online. (ECCO)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. When completed, the full collection will include nearly 150,000 titles and more than 33,000,000 pages of searchable material.

 

Samuel J. May Anti-slavery Collection
Searchable digital collection of pamphlets and leaflets donated to Cornell University by abolitionist and humanitarian Samuel J. May. Covers the anti-slavery struggle at local, regional, national, and international levels during the ante-bellum and Civil War periods in America. Includes essays, sermons, speeches, court proceedings and decisions, etc. Most pamphlets are anti-slavery, but some are pro-slavery. Topics include arguments for and against slavery; the relation of slavery to Biblical teachings; history of slavery around the world, and especially in the United States; the question of whether new American states should be required to give up slavery before joining the Union; the status of fugitive slaves, and whether states harboring them should be required to return them to their former owners; the slave trade and its economic supports, such as the sugar trade; and the organization, principles, and functioning of anti-slavery societies. Activities of churches and women's societies in opposing slavery are heavily documented.

 

North American Slave Narratives
Contains full text of "books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. Also included are many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves and some significant fictionalized slave narratives published in English before 1920."

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876 (formerly Early American Newspapers). Web-based archive of Americana that features images and full-text content from many historical newspapers.

 

American Memory
Provides information on, and access to, the digitized version of the Library's primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures. Broad topics covered include: agriculture, arts and architecture, history, performing arts, social sciences, etc. Particular collections include: African-American perspectives, Alexander Graham Bell papers, Baseball cards, Civil War photographs, Early motion pictures, and Voices from the Dust Bowl.
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait