Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Comparative Literature 1114: The Fatal Allure of Narcissism  Tags: literature comparative_literature  

Library Research Guide for Comparative Lit 1114: The Fatal Allure of Narcissism
Last update: Feb 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/coml1114  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Background Material             Print Page
  
 

Find Background Material

Quick Reference Subject Encyclopedias

Biographical Information
& Critical Analysis
(online)

 

Quick Reference

Credo Reference

A searchable collection containing 100 reference sources including subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical sources and quotations. Contains over 150,000 entries of facts, words, concepts, and people.

Search tip: For more precise results, use the Advanced Search and limit your search term by topic.

 

Oxford English Dictionary.

The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology. It embraces not only the standard language of literature and conversation, but also the main technical vocabulary, and a large measure of dialectical usage and slang. This edition contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition, its three-volume Additions Series, and also draft material from the revision programme, which represents the latest progress towards the Third Edition. Second edition available in print at Olin and Uris Reference PE1625 M98 1989

 

Return to top


Subject Encyclopedias

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

Online version of the 10-volume Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy. Can be browsed by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Full text entries can be searched by keyword, title, contributor, or bibliography. (Print copy in Olin Reference B51 R68 1998)

 

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences

Maps the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. The Encyclopedia includes: 3,842 signed articles; 15 million words of text; 90,000 bibliographic references; 150 biographical entries. (Print edition in Olin Reference H41 I58x 2001+)

 

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism. Edited by Michael Groden and Martin Kreiswirth, and Imre Szeman. Baltimore, Md.: Johns Hopkins University Press, c1997 -. 

A resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse.

 

Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature. Oxford University Press, c2006. 5 vols. Olin Ref PR19 O95 2006

"Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantial essays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia of British Literature includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant." (publisher) 

 

Return to top.


Biographical Information & Critical Analysis

Literature Resource Center (LRC). Farmington Hills, MI : Gale Group, c1999- .

A complete literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).

Lion Literature Online. Alexandria, Va. : Chadwyck-Healey, 1996- .

Includes critical and biographical references on English and American authors. Search tip: To find biographical entries as well as critical analysis, choose author from the left-hand tool bar. Enter the author's last name, first name, e.g.Kincaid, Jamaica.

Return to top

 

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait